Smoky Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
this stuff is awesome, thanks alot, will use again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
We halved the recipe and marinaded two 5-ounce filets for about 2 hours and they were incredibly delicious. It was pretty salty, which I love, but you might want to put 1/2-3/4 the amount of salt in it if you like yours less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
My husband really liked the flavor of this marinade. I would suggest decreasing the salt a little as it was too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mende Ann G., CMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
WOW - absolutely delicious. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This was WAY TOO SALTY and I only used the seasoning salt, nota adding the regular. Going by what others said, I thought I'd cut way back on the salt, and our beef tenderloins that I marinated overnight were inedible....What a waste of money!! I'm sorry, but this was AWEFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I love a salty steak, but this is even too much. I didn't even use all the salt listed in the recipe and ours was still way too salty. I only marinated it for an hour, I can't even imagine how bad it would have been if I'd done it overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I think this recipe calls for wayyyy too much salt. After reading the reviews, I decided to cut out the table salt all together and reduce the seasoned salt to just one tablespoon. Next time I will use fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. All the "powders" made the marinade pretty thick. I like the concept of this marinade, it just didn't work out that well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This can be a great marinade if you don't use all the salt or all the powders! I cut the recipe in half for a 1 lb. sirloin steak. I didn't use any table salt and only half of the seasoned salt (basically 1/4 of what the original recipe called for. I used minced garlic and added 2 Tbsp. of olive oil. I let this marinate all day. The result was a very flavorful, tender, smoky cut of steak and sirloin is not the best cut of meat either so I was pleasantly surprised. I would definitely try this again but on strips or rib eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This is pretty good stuff. I did cut back the salt to 1 tsp of seasoned salt and whish I would have added just a bit more. It has a good smokey flavor and went through the meat very well. DH grilled these for us and we enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
For me the flavor is too strong to use as a marinade and I only marinated my steak for 45 minutes! Think it would work better as a sauce to baste your meat with while cooking. The flavor is good, 'am trying to think of a way to tone it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinade for Steak I

See how to make a sensational marinade for steak.

The Best Steak Marinade

See how to make a super-simple, full-flavor marinade for grilled beef.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States