Smoky Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
this stuff is awesome, thanks alot, will use again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
We halved the recipe and marinaded two 5-ounce filets for about 2 hours and they were incredibly delicious. It was pretty salty, which I love, but you might want to put 1/2-3/4 the amount of salt in it if you like yours less salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
My husband really liked the flavor of this marinade. I would suggest decreasing the salt a little as it was too salty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mende Ann G., CMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
WOW - absolutely delicious. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This was WAY TOO SALTY and I only used the seasoning salt, nota adding the regular. Going by what others said, I thought I'd cut way back on the salt, and our beef tenderloins that I marinated overnight were inedible....What a waste of money!! I'm sorry, but this was AWEFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I love a salty steak, but this is even too much. I didn't even use all the salt listed in the recipe and ours was still way too salty. I only marinated it for an hour, I can't even imagine how bad it would have been if I'd done it overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I think this recipe calls for wayyyy too much salt. After reading the reviews, I decided to cut out the table salt all together and reduce the seasoned salt to just one tablespoon. Next time I will use fresh garlic instead of garlic powder. All the "powders" made the marinade pretty thick. I like the concept of this marinade, it just didn't work out that well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
This can be a great marinade if you don't use all the salt or all the powders! I cut the recipe in half for a 1 lb. sirloin steak. I didn't use any table salt and only half of the seasoned salt (basically 1/4 of what the original recipe called for. I used minced garlic and added 2 Tbsp. of olive oil. I let this marinate all day. The result was a very flavorful, tender, smoky cut of steak and sirloin is not the best cut of meat either so I was pleasantly surprised. I would definitely try this again but on strips or rib eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
This is pretty good stuff. I did cut back the salt to 1 tsp of seasoned salt and whish I would have added just a bit more. It has a good smokey flavor and went through the meat very well. DH grilled these for us and we enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
For me the flavor is too strong to use as a marinade and I only marinated my steak for 45 minutes! Think it would work better as a sauce to baste your meat with while cooking. The flavor is good, 'am trying to think of a way to tone it down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinade for Steak I

See how to make a sensational marinade for steak.

The Best Steak Marinade

See how to make a super-simple, full-flavor marinade for grilled beef.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States