Smoky Southwest Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Yum! This was quite good!!! Both my hubs and I rarely agree when it comes to food and we both thought this was a winner. :) I'll be the first to admit, I wasn't expecting much. Canned ingredients didn't appeal to me at all. Having said this, I did substitute a cup's worth of shredded rotisserie chicken for the canned variety (I HATE canned chicken - yuck!). In addition to this change, I have a couple of suggestions for improvement. First and foremost, this soup needs more liquid! As is, this was too thick for my liking. Start with 1 1/2 cups of broth, adding the entire can if you feel you need it (I did). Finally, why waste half a can of carrots? Go ahead and add all of them (this soup can handle it...). Panera bread bowls, a sprinkling of reserved cheese, chopped cilantro and seasoned tortilla strips made this a special meal. Margaritas were the perfect complement to our Southwestern-themed meal. Thanks for a great idea to add to my meal rotation, Mealtime.org! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is a FANTASTIC soup! So creamy and delicious!! I used some leftover shredded chicken I had did everything exact! This is a must try for everyone...thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This recipe needed more spices for me. Also, 10 minutes wasn't a long enough saute for me, and lastly, I don't think the recipe means you to cook 1 cup of wild rice and add it -- I think it means you to added 1 cup of already cooked wild rice. I did it the other way, so mine is more like a chicken & rice stew, which is totally fine, except that I wasn't expecting that! Thanks for the recipe, this was easy and (aside from the wild rice taking an hour to cook) quick to do. (Use any pre-cooked rice, even Rice-a-Roni, for a quicker and tastier addition.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
My husband isn't too fond of rice in any form except for rice pudding. I was lucky to get a bowl of this wonderful soup - before he finished all of it. I'll be making it again - as we enjoy soup regardless of the weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This soup was very flavorful. Mine was kind of thick so I needed to add extra chicken broth. Also used fresh carrots instead of canned which I sauteed along with the onions and celery -- plus I added fresh garlic at this step. My only problem with the recipe is that it only yielded about 2-3 main dish servings, not the 6 as stated. I wish I had at least tripled it. Will also switch to regular chicken breasts instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
So good!!! I made it with fresh veggies and rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Mullan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made a few adjustments to make it healthier and lower in calories for me. I used one whole onion, threw in a bit of fresh minced garlic, fresh grated carrot instead of canned, poached/shredded chicken I had in my freezer and fat free half-n-half instead of whipping cream. I added fresh ground pepper as well. I also used organic ingredients where I could. After tasting the soup, I did add more cumin/chili powder/cilantro. This is tasty, though for me it needed more spice. Even lightened up, I don't miss any of the flavor by using lower fat ingredients. Next time, I'd leave out the celery as I felt it was out of place in this recipe, but that's a personal choice. NOTE: If you are having a hard time locating ground chipotle chili, I found it in my local grocery store in the "ethnic" food aisle with the mexican foods hanging from a j-hook in a cellophane packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was fantastic. I used fresh veggies and realized after I started it that I'd used up all of my chicken so threw in some bacon and Uncle Ben's chicken and wild rice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Good, but I think I would like a little more spice :) I didn't have chipotle powder, so I used a little canned chipotle in adobo and a pinch of jalapeno powder. I also used fresh carrots in place of canned, fresh shredded chicken and used all chicken broth instead of cream of chicken soup. Because of these changes, I did need to add some salt. Lovely flavor and a nice way to change up a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Really good flavor! I used fresh veggies (just add the carrots when cooking the onion and celery) and substituted skim milk for the cream and it was still thick and delicious. I also used the adobo sauce from a can of chipolte's instead of ground chipolte just because that that was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States