Smoky Southwest Chicken and Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Yum! This was quite good!!! Both my hubs and I rarely agree when it comes to food and we both thought this was a winner. :) I'll be the first to admit, I wasn't expecting much. Canned ingredients didn't appeal to me at all. Having said this, I did substitute a cup's worth of shredded rotisserie chicken for the canned variety (I HATE canned chicken - yuck!). In addition to this change, I have a couple of suggestions for improvement. First and foremost, this soup needs more liquid! As is, this was too thick for my liking. Start with 1 1/2 cups of broth, adding the entire can if you feel you need it (I did). Finally, why waste half a can of carrots? Go ahead and add all of them (this soup can handle it...). Panera bread bowls, a sprinkling of reserved cheese, chopped cilantro and seasoned tortilla strips made this a special meal. Margaritas were the perfect complement to our Southwestern-themed meal. Thanks for a great idea to add to my meal rotation, Mealtime.org! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This is a FANTASTIC soup! So creamy and delicious!! I used some leftover shredded chicken I had did everything exact! This is a must try for everyone...thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This recipe needed more spices for me. Also, 10 minutes wasn't a long enough saute for me, and lastly, I don't think the recipe means you to cook 1 cup of wild rice and add it -- I think it means you to added 1 cup of already cooked wild rice. I did it the other way, so mine is more like a chicken & rice stew, which is totally fine, except that I wasn't expecting that! Thanks for the recipe, this was easy and (aside from the wild rice taking an hour to cook) quick to do. (Use any pre-cooked rice, even Rice-a-Roni, for a quicker and tastier addition.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
My husband isn't too fond of rice in any form except for rice pudding. I was lucky to get a bowl of this wonderful soup - before he finished all of it. I'll be making it again - as we enjoy soup regardless of the weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This soup was very flavorful. Mine was kind of thick so I needed to add extra chicken broth. Also used fresh carrots instead of canned which I sauteed along with the onions and celery -- plus I added fresh garlic at this step. My only problem with the recipe is that it only yielded about 2-3 main dish servings, not the 6 as stated. I wish I had at least tripled it. Will also switch to regular chicken breasts instead of canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
So good!!! I made it with fresh veggies and rotisserie chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Mullan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made a few adjustments to make it healthier and lower in calories for me. I used one whole onion, threw in a bit of fresh minced garlic, fresh grated carrot instead of canned, poached/shredded chicken I had in my freezer and fat free half-n-half instead of whipping cream. I added fresh ground pepper as well. I also used organic ingredients where I could. After tasting the soup, I did add more cumin/chili powder/cilantro. This is tasty, though for me it needed more spice. Even lightened up, I don't miss any of the flavor by using lower fat ingredients. Next time, I'd leave out the celery as I felt it was out of place in this recipe, but that's a personal choice. NOTE: If you are having a hard time locating ground chipotle chili, I found it in my local grocery store in the "ethnic" food aisle with the mexican foods hanging from a j-hook in a cellophane packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This was fantastic. I used fresh veggies and realized after I started it that I'd used up all of my chicken so threw in some bacon and Uncle Ben's chicken and wild rice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Good, but I think I would like a little more spice :) I didn't have chipotle powder, so I used a little canned chipotle in adobo and a pinch of jalapeno powder. I also used fresh carrots in place of canned, fresh shredded chicken and used all chicken broth instead of cream of chicken soup. Because of these changes, I did need to add some salt. Lovely flavor and a nice way to change up a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Really good flavor! I used fresh veggies (just add the carrots when cooking the onion and celery) and substituted skim milk for the cream and it was still thick and delicious. I also used the adobo sauce from a can of chipolte's instead of ground chipolte just because that that was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States