Smoky Sausage Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Used a jar sauce (4 cheese rosa) and chicken-pineapple sausage with 2/3 sharp cheddar and 1/3 smoked gouda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ayngyl
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Very easy, very good! I used a mix of sharp cheddar and Colby jack cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
My family really enjoyed this, but I had made too much pasta, so the sauce did not cover all of it. Other than that, it was pretty good as it was. I might suggest adding a little bit of colored bell peppers to it, but it was good enough to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I think the main thing to remember here, is these starter sauces are not inteneded to make gourmet meals but to help busy people prepare and make a family dinner in a short period of time and with very little fuss. I could see the sauce was on the watery side so while the pasta was cooking I simmered the sauce and tomatoes with some black pepper to thicken it a little and It really did seem to make a difference. I also added grated parmesan. This turned out ok, nothing I would rush to make again but an edible family meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was pretty good. I will probably make it again, but will add some sweet onion, garlic, and definitely brown the smoked sausage. My kids said it needed some bacon so I may try that as well. Pretty quick meal for a work night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made some serious modifications - but I loved it once it was done: We used Three Cheese Light alfredo sauce instead of the recipe creations, I used minced onions because I'm lazy, added minced garlic, used italian flavored diced tomatoes, used Chicken Hardwood Smoked Sausage from Hillshire Farms, and used whole wheat elbow macaroni. I also put the whole cup of cheese in and then put another half cup on the top since I didn't read the directions well enough ;) I called it mac & cheese for my 5 year old twins and they loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I usually try to see the bright side of every dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I used crumbled up sausage, and added some green pepper and red onion, and some broccoli flowerettes. Topped with mozzarella cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Very easy and much better than I thought it was going to be. I used garlic flavored al fresco natural chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Bloomer Hoerth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I made recipe as written with no tweaks. As is this recipe was not a winner in my house. It works as a base but it needs help to make it something good. I doubt I would make it again but if I did I would add garlic, onion, pepper and other seasonings to give it better flavor and hide the from a can taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States