Smoky Sausage Penne Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Used a jar sauce (4 cheese rosa) and chicken-pineapple sausage with 2/3 sharp cheddar and 1/3 smoked gouda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ayngyl
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Very easy, very good! I used a mix of sharp cheddar and Colby jack cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
My family really enjoyed this, but I had made too much pasta, so the sauce did not cover all of it. Other than that, it was pretty good as it was. I might suggest adding a little bit of colored bell peppers to it, but it was good enough to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I think the main thing to remember here, is these starter sauces are not inteneded to make gourmet meals but to help busy people prepare and make a family dinner in a short period of time and with very little fuss. I could see the sauce was on the watery side so while the pasta was cooking I simmered the sauce and tomatoes with some black pepper to thicken it a little and It really did seem to make a difference. I also added grated parmesan. This turned out ok, nothing I would rush to make again but an edible family meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was pretty good. I will probably make it again, but will add some sweet onion, garlic, and definitely brown the smoked sausage. My kids said it needed some bacon so I may try that as well. Pretty quick meal for a work night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made some serious modifications - but I loved it once it was done: We used Three Cheese Light alfredo sauce instead of the recipe creations, I used minced onions because I'm lazy, added minced garlic, used italian flavored diced tomatoes, used Chicken Hardwood Smoked Sausage from Hillshire Farms, and used whole wheat elbow macaroni. I also put the whole cup of cheese in and then put another half cup on the top since I didn't read the directions well enough ;) I called it mac & cheese for my 5 year old twins and they loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I usually try to see the bright side of every dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I used crumbled up sausage, and added some green pepper and red onion, and some broccoli flowerettes. Topped with mozzarella cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LHOERTH
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Very easy and much better than I thought it was going to be. I used garlic flavored al fresco natural chicken sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LHOERTH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I made recipe as written with no tweaks. As is this recipe was not a winner in my house. It works as a base but it needs help to make it something good. I doubt I would make it again but if I did I would add garlic, onion, pepper and other seasonings to give it better flavor and hide the from a can taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Bacon Mac n’ Cheese

Get a head start on busy weeknight Mac & Cheese!

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Crispy Garlic Parmesan Chicken

Make crispy garlic chicken the super quick-and-easy way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States