Smoky Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I was looking for something to do with smoked sausage that I had on hand and found this recipe. I immediately knew my husband would love it - and he did! I made two changes - I used 1/2 lb smoked ssg - and that was enough - and because we like a little kick in our food - I used 8 oz of regular Velveeta and 8 oz of Mexican Velveeta. It was delicious! I also used 1 can of reg broth and 1 can of low sodium broth but that's a minor change! Wasn't sure about the size of potatoes to use so next time I'll use 6 med-large size instead of 6 small-med size. I guess it would be good to have know the best amount to use in cups rather than # of potatoes since they differ in size. Even my picky 6 year old liked it! We loved it and will be making it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Let me start off by saying that I'm rating this recipe off of the fact that I used 2% Velveeta and fat free milk. Based off of that, this just fell flat. It lacked flavor. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Awesome. My only regret is that I read the nutritional value. Otherwise....I would eat this weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Delicious! I used low fat evap milk and it was thick enough to not use the corn starch. Because the sausage is what provides a lot of the flavor I'd suggest cutting into smaller pieces so that you get some in every bite. Next time I'm going to try with smoked ham and maybe some bacon bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Used turkey brats, casings removed. Added capful of liquid smoke; grated carrots, 2-3 cloves garlic; used rosemary I had on hand, and added some thyme. Fat Free evap milk worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Really good & hearty! I sauteed the onion and smoked sausage together in the butter. Added a package of frozen extra sweet corn niblets(steamed in microwave for 5 min. first) and instead of peeling and dicing all those potatoes I bought a 2 lb frozen package out of the hash brown section. Let that simmer in broth until the potatoes were tender mashed it up a little and added the cheese, milk and pepper. I also baked a loaf of pre-made multigrain french bread. YUM! Thanks for the great recipe. Charley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharleyBrul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is SOOOOO good! Perfect for the fall weather. I took PrincessApril's advice and sauteed the sausage prior to adding the broth. Like others, I added a few seasonings (cayenne & garlic), for my taste, as well as celery. Absolutely fabulous! Thank you Karin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was a great recipe! What I did different was add a 3 oz. jar of bacon bits from the salad aisle of the grocery store instead of sausage as well add about five chopped up celery stalks, and one lb. of cubed mild cheddar. When browning the onions and celery, I tossed in a whole cube of butter also. I didn't need to add any corn starch because it was the perfect consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is my all-time favorite potato soup recipe! I've been using it for a few years, but I did make some changes. I use dehydrated onion and leave out the margarine completely. I also use beef broth instead of chicken (I've made it both ways and we like the beef best). I know it would be less fat using turkey sausage, but the beef tastes so much better. :oP I normally slice and cook the sausage separately and drain it well to remove quite a bit of fat before adding to the soup. Make some homemade bread with this, and you've got a stick-to-your-ribs meal that is true comfort food on a cold winter's day. :o) Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This soup was a hit with my family, and I enjoyed it quite a bit too. I did make a few changes, in that I used whole milk instead of evaporated, added minced garlic while sauteing the onions,used only five potatoes instead of six, and added chopped broccoli to it as well. I also didn't bother to peel the potatoes, and didn't really mash it all that much, since I prefer the potato chunks. It was relatively easy to make though, and I will definitely be making this again when we're in a soup mood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyoftheIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States