Smoky Potato Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I loved this recipe!!! Even my husband loved it and he doesn't like soup OR sausage!!! I did make some slight modifications-thanks to the reviews already posted :) I only used one can of evaporated milk. I also sauteed the sausage with the onions and added about a 1/2 T of minced garlic with the onion. Instead of cooking it all on the stove I moved it to the crock pot when it was time to add the cheese. I also added 1/2 bag of shredded mozzarella and shredded cheddar to it. It cooked on high in the crock pot for about an hour...until all the cheese was melted. This was definitely easy to make and tasted wonderful!!!!! Everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hagerstown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is the best potato soup ever .. Really no changes needed . Nothing else needs to be said bouy this one .. MMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This can be made lower in calories and carbs by substituting cauliflower for the potatoes and using fat free evaporated milk and 2% extra sharp cheddar cheese. I recommend using a turkey smoked sausage, too. This is VERY good and using cauliflower you don't fall into the mushy trap that you sometimes do with potato soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Thought this was very good. I tried to then make it with light Velveeta but ruined it. Original version was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsymonds

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I made this last night for dinner, and it was pretty good. I used about 2 tbsp butter to saute my onions, and added about 1 tsp minced garlic. I also tossed in my sausage with this mixture to cook it up some and release some of it's flavor - it smelled divine. I used 8 small-medium potatoes cubed, but probably could have used another 2 or 3 after seeing what I had once they were crushed. I used a 32 oz carton of reduced-sodium chicken broth and after adding it, felt there wasn't enough liquid to cook the potatoes, so added maybe another cup of broth - a mistake. By the time the potatoes were cooked and crushed, the soup didn't thicken, even with the cheese added. I wound up mixing about 3 tbsp cornstarch with 1 (12 oz) can evaporated milk (2% lowfat) and using that to thicken the soup. It was very thick, which was fine for my husband - he loves it that way. My son liked it, but doesn't care for smoked sausage, so ate all but the meat. All in all it was a very good soup, and will add it to my list of regulars. It was nice to have a change in pace for meat - we usually stick to pork chops, chicken breasts and ground beef. The sausage was a different but good choice. Next time I might try using red potatoes, and making a roux with butter and flour, and adding my milk to that, then the milk mixture to the soup. The crushed potatoes give it a strange texture - not bad, but not as smooth as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This was a tasty soup. I like the salty, smoky taste of using the sausage. I used my slow cooker for approx 2 hours on high. I microwaved the cubed potatoes for about 3 mins prior to help soften the potatoes ahead of time. I did make a novice mistake and let the soup continue to cook after adding the evaporated milk. This ended up making the soup grainy. I still tasted great and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I have made this soup many times and it is always very good... I like mine a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Loved the recipe, although I made several changes. First of all, I cut the recipe by 1/2. My favorite change was an addition of 2 teaspoons of Worcestershire sauce, as suggested in a similar recipe on another site. Added the perfect touch. Other changes were due to what I happened to have in my pantry: -Substituted fresh potatoes for canned, sliced potatoes, drained. (I used 2 cans for my half-recipe.) -Substituted processed cubed cheese to a 3-cup bag of shredded cheddar. -Used half the butter, but added a little olive oil to increase the smoking point. -Used a shallot instead of an onion, and added the cut up smoked sausage to that to brown it a bit before adding the rest of the ingredients. I noticed that using the potato masher turned out to be key here. Really helped thicken this, although I did use a bit of corn starch paste at the end as well. This turned out to be the perfect thick, hearty sausage-potato chowder. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paper_Doll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
this was a really easy and delicious recipe. we didn't really care for the sausage so next time i make it i'll definately use ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States