Smoky Mountain Chipotle Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipe impressed my entire family. I used wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar. I doubled the garlic and adobo peppers and sauce. I left everything else the same and served with red garlic mashed potatoes. To grill the onions it makes it a lot easier to wrap the onion slices in tin foil and grill over indirect heat. And then after the chicken is done. i turned off the grill and layered the toppings on and shut the grill top to melt it perfectly. This is my favorite recipe on this site so far and would recommend it to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
DH thought this was absolutely wonderful. Packed with flavor!! I must say the sauce really overpowers any seasoning that I had put on the chicken. Next time will just use the sauce. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as listed. It was delicious! I made this for my mother and grandmother and although it was a bit spicy at first, the heat wore off as you made your way through the meal and it was fantastic! I would recommend using a charcoal grill as that really adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiebenroodW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Fixed this as written except omitted the bacon, onion and cheese toppings to lower the fat and calories. My husband and I both loved it. It was a bit time consuming, but the sauce makes the dish and I wouldn't change any part of the sauce. Will definately fix it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe, although a bit time consuming in the assembly. The sauce would be great on lots of other grilled meats too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This recipe is incredible! We all loved it. The sauce alone is so good I'm dreaming of all sorts of ways to use it. Only thing I did differently and I'm glad I did was instead of grilling the onion slices I caramalized them in a pan. That way I could almost smother the chicken with them, then add the bacon and cheese. This was so so jam packed with flavor. I thought the heat level was pretty mild and might add an extra pepper next time. I will make this again for sure. Thanks so much for sharing this one Janine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
What NOT to do. I only thought this dish was ok, but I have say that I also had to substitute some ingredients, the fire on our grill was too low, and I didn't use the onion or cheese on top. I didn't have enough catchup, any brandy or any chipotle in adobe sauce. I subbed: Tomato paste with 1 can of water; Cooking Sherry; S Bend Sauce - a flavorful Barbados brand yellow hot sauce. It was too tomatoe-y for my taste and not sweet at all. Since my fire was too low, I didn't get the caramelizing on the meat like I thought I would. I tried it again the next day with the cheese...still only ok. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Awesome! We decided to serve this for some friends we had over for dinner. I made my husband actually prepare the sauce the night before. Even though he complained about all the ingredients (which is not true) he said it was well worth it in the end. I could tell he was proud of himself. On a side note, when we tasted the sauce right after it was made, it was really spicy. The next day, after the chicken had marinated overnight, it was perfect. Not too spicy at all, which was good because our friend did not like really spicy food. She thought it was excellent. Also - we did not have any bourbon and used Canadian Club Whiskey - tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
OMG! This was sooooo good! I followed the recipe to the T and the sauce was amazingly good. I always rave about big als bbq sauce but this one was just as good. The perfect amount of spice,tang,and sweetness. The chicken, smothered in the bbq sauce, topped with grilled red onion,bacon and cheese... OMG, i cant say enough good things about this. I will serve this the next time i have company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Have made this twice now, first with out liquid smoke and burbon, and the second with, i love it either way, i will continue to make.. does make extra sauce that i like to use for other great things! thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheenaz8982

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States