Smoky Mountain Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
My husband and I enjoyed this a lot. I changed the prep. a bit. Instead of seasoning and baking I went through all steps and baked. I didn't use a whole bottle of BBQ sauce--I just spooned it on. I think next time I'll cut back on the Italian Seasoning. It didn't seem to go with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
My husband really liked this, but I have to admit that I really don't like the combination of cheese and BBQ sauce together. We compromised at a 4-star rating. I know this will be used in our house again....lunches for the hubby. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Completely awesome. The easiest and yummiest way to fix chicken. Works best with sweeter BBQ sauces, like Sweet Baby Rays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
I loved this recipe. I cooked the chicken on the grill on foil and basted with the barbeque sauce (Using alot less) Then topped it with the ham and cheese at the end. No clean up! My husband wants be to put it in the weekly rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a great chicken recipe. The ingredients kindof remind me of a chicken cordon blue, just with BBQ sauce. The results were fantastic! I used a sweet Memphis style BBQ sauce that really gave the chicken a nice flavor. Super easy to make and absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
for something that sounds so simple, this was awesome! i don't care for ham much, so i made mine with bacon and hubby's with ham - i loved it!! i think my husband liked the bacon ones better too, so i will make them all with bacon next time. delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
Awesome!! My mom said it tastes just like a resturant we go to. Next time we might add button mushrooms on top of the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Made this last night, however I didn't have ham or the tomato to garnish. Still turned out great. Was a big hit for both my son and my BF. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Simply delicious. If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. I used the garlic powder and italian seasoning "to taste", as directed, and I probably used a lot less than 1 teaspoon of each. I felt that it added a complexity of flavor that you couldn't get anywhere else, though, and I wouldn't ever think of leaving them out. Instead of Monterey Jack cheese, I used mild cheddar, since that's what I had. My husband ate one bite, declared it "card worthy", then proceeded to eat 3 of the 4 breasts by himself. Definitely a compliment. :) Thanks Kellie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My husband could not stop raving about this! His reaction typically would resulted in my giving this 5 stars, but I made a few changes to the recipe that I felt were necessary to improve it. I used a super-spicy seasoning mix in place of the Italian seasoning (since I just couldn't see how that would work with the BBQ sauce), nixed the pepper, added a little salt, and only used 2 tbs. of BBQ sauce per chicken breast (which was more than enough). I also used smoked mozzerella in place of the Monterey Jack, because that's what I had on hand. Otherwise, though, I made it precisely as written, and my husband is already asking when we're going to be eating the leftovers! I thought it was good as well (and the chicken was very moist!), but nothing phenomenal--that BBQ/meat combo must be a guy-thing! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Chicken Kabobs Mexicana

Tender, juicy, grilled chicken skewers with Mexican-inspired flavors.

How to Make Barbecue Chicken

Discover a great technique for making perfect barbecue chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States