Smoky Mountain Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Simply delicious. If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. I used the garlic powder and italian seasoning "to taste", as directed, and I probably used a lot less than 1 teaspoon of each. I felt that it added a complexity of flavor that you couldn't get anywhere else, though, and I wouldn't ever think of leaving them out. Instead of Monterey Jack cheese, I used mild cheddar, since that's what I had. My husband ate one bite, declared it "card worthy", then proceeded to eat 3 of the 4 breasts by himself. Definitely a compliment. :) Thanks Kellie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My husband could not stop raving about this! His reaction typically would resulted in my giving this 5 stars, but I made a few changes to the recipe that I felt were necessary to improve it. I used a super-spicy seasoning mix in place of the Italian seasoning (since I just couldn't see how that would work with the BBQ sauce), nixed the pepper, added a little salt, and only used 2 tbs. of BBQ sauce per chicken breast (which was more than enough). I also used smoked mozzerella in place of the Monterey Jack, because that's what I had on hand. Otherwise, though, I made it precisely as written, and my husband is already asking when we're going to be eating the leftovers! I thought it was good as well (and the chicken was very moist!), but nothing phenomenal--that BBQ/meat combo must be a guy-thing! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Delicious! The flavors are wonderful together. My hubby said it was very tasty and asked that I make it again. I didn't have monterey jack cheese so I used pepper jack. I liked the spicy cheese with the sweet BBQ sauce. That was the only change I made and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was excellent! I used dry italian dressing seasoning and sweet baby rays bbq. Everyone , including kids enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Vickers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was very good chicken. Enjoyed by the entire family, but especially loved by my husband. He commented on how all of the flavors were perfect together and the chicken was very moist. I am sure this one will be made again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is a great chicken recipe. The ingredients kindof remind me of a chicken cordon blue, just with BBQ sauce. The results were fantastic! I used a sweet Memphis style BBQ sauce that really gave the chicken a nice flavor. Super easy to make and absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Plainville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I made this for Christmas and it was a big hit. There was no left overs.This is so good i have made it twice already and i am sure it will be made again. So i encourage any one to try it. One thing it doesn't need all the BBQ it calls for. Just use less that is what i did. This is yummified!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Not bad. I prepared this slightly differently, since I had a huge whole cut up chicken from bf's parents which (from previous experience!) takes forever to bake. So, I seasoned the chicken then put in the crock pot with a mixture of two different bbq sauces (a total of about 27 oz--I used more since I had so much chicken); one spicy, one honey bbq, then cooked on high for 4 hours. Once the chicken was cooked, I transferred 4 pieces of the chicken to a baking pan and added the additional meat and cheese, then baked in the oven for about 15 minutes. I'm not sure if my method of cooking the chicken changed things or not, but I didn't really notice a jarring flavor from the italian seasoning, and the bbq sauce worked well. Putting the sauce with the chicken in the crockpot did thin it out a lot bc of all of the moisture, so that must've alleviated the problem of too much bbq sauce. I used salami and pepperoni as the additional meats since I didn't have ham. I really like the tomato topping--wasn't sure that would work, but it does seem to add a nice flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I have to say I was a little leery of the combination of BBQ sauce and cheese, but this was REALLY good. Hubby even gave it a 4.75, and that doesn't happen very often! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I prepared this exactly as said except for the change of the cheese. I used cheddar. This was tasty, the chicken was juicy but the BBQ sauce was overpowering. We couldn't taste the ham or the cheese & I didn't drown the chicken in the sauce. Because not of my kids liked it, I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Chicken Kabobs Mexicana

Tender, juicy, grilled chicken skewers with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Chicken Milano

A tasty Italian-influenced chicken dish with sun-dried tomatoes and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States