Smoky Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This is a WONDERFUL mac'n'cheese recipe and very simple to make. I found the smoked cheddar in the deli/gourmet section of the supermarket and grated it myself. I made sure to use whipping cream as suggested in the recipe. I did not make any change whatsoever to the recipe, and it came out perfect. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This is a great recipe. I doubled the amount of sauce because I prefer a creamier mac 'n cheese. I also used whole wheat elbows and drained the tomatoes so that the sauce wasn't overwhelmed with a tomato taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is really really delicious. I have made this several times. I add 1/2 cup milk because I like it creamier. When I can't find / don't want to pay for smoked cheddar I add 1 - 2 tsp liquid smoke (which I've never been a fan of but it works really well in this dish), I have also used a Tablespoon or so of pureed chipotle peppers for the heat. Yum. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twoerics

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Not a keeper, IMO. While I cut down the amount of smoked cheddar by subbing 1/2 sharp, it wasn't very "cheesy". Wouldn't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
i added some sweet italian sausage and fresh basil which made tasted fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
OMGoodness! Be prepared to lick the spoon and pot after and during this one! I used table cream (18%) and it didn't curdle. I only used 1/4 of the cheese called for as the smoked cheddar and the other 3/4 cheese asked for I used old cheddar. I used 1 can of fire roasted tomatoes because that's all I had. Next time I will try bacon in this and some fresh cut tomatoes sprinkled on top when serving:) Kids Looovved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
love it but I cheat completely, using this recipe just as a base. I can only imagine how fabulous it would be if I didn't cheat. I just used a box of plain ole Kraft Mac n Cheese, then added the mustard, green onions, smoke flavoring, drained tomatoes, etc. Basically just a doctored up box of mac n cheese but fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Made it for the first time tonight. Used panko instead of the regular breadcrumbs, will make it again but might need to tweak it a bit....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COD3ELF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gila Bend, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Delicious and more interesting than the average mac 'n cheese! Will make again when in the mood for mac 'n cheese. Husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Made this today for dinner and I have to say it is incredible. I did add 16 oz of cream and 1/3 cp more of cheese...it's creamy and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States