Smoky Mac 'n Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Took this to a pot-luck and got rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is really really delicious. I have made this several times. I add 1/2 cup milk because I like it creamier. When I can't find / don't want to pay for smoked cheddar I add 1 - 2 tsp liquid smoke (which I've never been a fan of but it works really well in this dish), I have also used a Tablespoon or so of pureed chipotle peppers for the heat. Yum. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Not a keeper, IMO. While I cut down the amount of smoked cheddar by subbing 1/2 sharp, it wasn't very "cheesy". Wouldn't recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I really enjoy this recipe... I like to add a pound of ground beef to the mix and I also like to use more bread crumbs for the topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
OMGoodness! Be prepared to lick the spoon and pot after and during this one! I used table cream (18%) and it didn't curdle. I only used 1/4 of the cheese called for as the smoked cheddar and the other 3/4 cheese asked for I used old cheddar. I used 1 can of fire roasted tomatoes because that's all I had. Next time I will try bacon in this and some fresh cut tomatoes sprinkled on top when serving:) Kids Looovved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALYSSIA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Delicious and more interesting than the average mac 'n cheese! Will make again when in the mood for mac 'n cheese. Husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
love it but I cheat completely, using this recipe just as a base. I can only imagine how fabulous it would be if I didn't cheat. I just used a box of plain ole Kraft Mac n Cheese, then added the mustard, green onions, smoke flavoring, drained tomatoes, etc. Basically just a doctored up box of mac n cheese but fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
A bit much with the smokey flavor. Too much of one medium cheese resulting in the dish being a bit greasy. Not bad overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodstock, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I would rate this recipe a 4. For my taste, the smoky cheddar was a bit too much smoky flavored. It may have been the cheese although it was quite expensive. Next time, I will use regular cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fordyce, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Great recipe - I was under a tight timeline, so I had to use a sharp/mild cheddar mix instead, as well as forgetting the scallions ;) But all in all, turned out great for my last minute potluck contribution. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States