Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
This had tons of flavor and is far from boring hummus. I enjoyed the addition of chipotle and roasted red peppers. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was very good, with a little tweaking to suit your own taste. I ended up adding more garlic as well as a little more tahini. Next time, I will try some lime juice and omitting either the tomatoes or roasted peppers, and the cilantro. Sometimes less is more. Also, be sure to rinse the garbanzo beans before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Amazing dip! I loved this dip as did everyone who tried it. I only added one garlic clove as mine were huge. Slightly less tahini as I can find it overpowering in some hummus. I only added one roasted red pepper as I only had one left in the jar. I couldn't find the pepper in adobo in Australia so added some chopped jar jalepenos for spice. This may mean I didn't have the smoky flavour but we all still loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This recipe was awesome! I've been a big fan of Sabra's Supremely Spicy Hummus for years now but I'm not the biggest fan of the consistency, and the preservatives they add so my girlfriend who is a chef suggested I make my own. I followed this recipe except I didn't use water, I used a bit of the reserved liquid from the beans. Additionally I removed the hulls from the beans. I used 6 chipotle peppers which I blended, and minced one more and stirred in for some added punch. I added cayenne pepper, and chili powder and did not have cilantro. I used the adobo sauce from the peppers which definitely added some smokey flavor. Next time I will probably use half the peppers, and add red pepper flakes, and pimento and chili peppers to turn up the heat. For the cost of one 15oz Sabra container, you can easily make 60oz of your own, free of chemicals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Delicious Hummus dip! I will use this again and again. I made the same mistake as another reviewer did... The recipe calls for 1 "canned" chipoltle pepper in adobo sauce- NOT 1 "can" of chipolte peppers... My hummus was very spicy since I used the whole can. (I still liked it but my husband isn't into spicy stuff). I read the reviews after I made it and read how a reviewer already warned us of that mistake. Lol I never read directions first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Sooo good! Since I live in The Netherlands, I couldn't find chipotle pepper in adobo sauce. I substituted it for some 'sambal badjak' (Indonesian seasoned chilipaste), and it turned out great! Loved it, and I'm sure I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I have never reviewed a recipe before, but this is so delicious, I just had to tell somebody about it. It is so flavourful, to die for wow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Yes! Finally a hummus with some taste and sparkle. I will never buy store bought again, I made this and took some to work, even those who don't like heat could not stop. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I hate to be a downer, but I really didn't like this. I'm not even sure why: I like all the ingredients that go into it. Maybe it's because not a single ingredient really stood out in flavor. It tasted vaguely like red pepper with a slightly smoky aftertaste. I don't think the cilantro did good things for it either, and I love cilantro. Thanks for sharing anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is oh-my-stars good! I've made plenty of hummus before, but I think it is the dried tomatoes that give this particular hummus a different kick. I used smokey chipotle powder rather than the peppers in adobo because that's what I had on hand, but it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States