Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
wonderfully tasty, I do lightly chop the peppers and tomatoes to keep the processor from turning them into too small a pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I have made this recipe countless times and always receive many complements. This is the only hummus my husband will eat. It is so much better than any store-bought ones I've tried. I usually leave out the sun dried tomatoes and roast my own red pepper (super easy). I also often remove the seeds from the chipotle pepper before adding it, as sometimes the blender doesn't get them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I've made this recipe at least 4 times now and it is a definite keeper. I made only a few changes; I do not add water, instead I add a little of the water that the roased bell peppers are soaked in. I do not add any salt and do not miss it at all as there is a "fiesta" of flavor going on with all the other ingredients. I also add an additional clove of garlic as we all love the spice. This recipe is a crowd super-pleaser!! Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rita, Santa Rita, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Delish! A new staple in our house! On my first attempt, I made 1/2 the recipe which was plenty! I also left out the sundried tomatos (I did not have any on hand) and it was great. I was sick of spending $4 for a small container of Sabra chipotle (which I do love). I make this new once a week! This is a simple and very adaptable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
must learn to read the recipe carefully.....used a can of chipotle peppers and this was spicy,but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Delicious. Best hummus I've made at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is really good. But I think to be fair, you need to let it sit in the fridge for several hours to give all the flavors a chance to blend. If you eat it right away it's bland. But if you give the peppers and seasonings a chance to mingle, it's awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have to say this recipe is absolutely DELICIOUS! I, just like many others above me, also added extra chipotles because I also love spicy things. I made some oven toasted pita chips brushed with a little olive oil and some mashed garlic to eat the hummus with. I brought it to my family reunion and just about everyone that ate some asked for the recipe. Needless to say, I didn't leave with any left-overs though which I was very dissapointed about. The only couple things I did differently is used some of the different sauces instead of as much water (a tiny bit of adobo and sundried tomatoes oil as well as some of the garbanzo bean juice). And the extra chipotles. I just kind of eyeballed the ingredients the second time and it still came out just as delicious. It's practically a foolproof recipe. I would probably make this everyday if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lhyzer12

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Not bad, but not what I was expecting and takes some odd ingredience that I wouldn't use in other recipes, so they'll probably go to waste unless I make a ton of hummus. I'm going to try other recipes. If I do make this one again I'm going to try leaving it in the food processor a little longer on the last step to get the sun dried tomatoes good and small. I think mine was too lumpy. I would also cut down on the lime, it was a little strong with the citrus for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Excellent. I made the recipe as written, then tweaked it to personal preference by adding the rest of my 12 oz jar of roasted red bells, a second chipotle chile, and a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States