Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This recipe is excellent! Beware of the: 1 canned chipotle pepper in adobo sauce That's 1 pepper, not 2 ... not a can. I placed 2 of those bad boys in 1/2 batch size. Hot, Hot, Hot - but really good. This is good so people will scarf this up at a party ... use the hot peppers to slow them down. :-) I served this with toasted Pita slices - split in 1/2, cut into triangles, brushed with olive oil, granulated garlic, salt and Pepper to taste. Toasted at 450 in the oven until crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This hummus was delicious. Very flavorful with a hint of spicy - not overwhelming. I used the ingredients as listed - except no tahini as my store does not sell it. The only change I made to prep was a tip I read on another hummus recipe to make a creamier mixture: Drain the garbanzo beans and pour them into a bowl of water. With fingers, gently rub the beans to loosen the hull. Hulls will float to the top and you can easily scoop them out. When you've removed them all, drain off the water and use the beans as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very good recipe, don't make the same newbie mistake I made. I was running back and forth from the kitchen to the computer to read the recipe. In brief glancing, I read it as "1 can chipotle peppers in adobo sauce." Just so nobody else makes the same dumb mistake. It's ONE PEPPER, not ONE CAN of peppers. For what it's worth, it turned out really good, but super spicy. If you like really spice, dump the whole can in, it's super flavorful. I remade the recipe correctly and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I have never reviewed a recipe before but I had to for this one. This dip is delicous! My new favorite. It is a battle letting it marry in the fridge for a whole hour. The only things I did differently was omitting the roasted peppers and using the liquid from the garbanzos in place of water. That was before I thought of using the water I soaked my homemade sundried tomatoes in. I will try that next time. This is good stuff, perfect snack on a hot summer's day. Thanks for posting it, I use chipotle and cilantro all the time and would have never thought of adding them to hummus, which is another favorite. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Oooooh my! This is soooooo good! I made a couple of alterations- Instead of 1/2 cup water, I used water and a splash of the juice from the bottle of red peppers as well as a healthy dose of the adobo sauce from the chipotle peppers. I used lime as weel as lemon, left out the tomato. I used dried cilantro as that is what I had. I tasted it prior to adding the tahini, and it was great without, although it does add depth to the flavor. You can fiddle with this recipe to suit your taste. It's winner for sure, and will be going to our next office party! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darkgardyner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
My husband gave me an empty container and said he will never eat it again..... yeah right! He didn't like hummus until today and now he loves it!!! Awesome recipe. Just the right amount of kick. Great for dipping veggies, pita chips, and Triscuits. I use this as a spread in my veggie wraps instead of dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I made this for the first time last night to serve at an after-work party tonight. As other posters have noted, it tasted a little bland with just one pepper, so I threw in a total of three (they were small) and about a tablespoon of the adobo sauce. I let it sit in the refrigerator overnight, and this morning, the flavors had really come through wonderfully--it is delicious! A couple of co-workers have sampled it and also think it is really good. I can already tell this is one I will make again and again. I followed the advice of one poster who said to rinse the beans and get the husks off them, and I can see the benefit of doing that. I'm really glad to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Yum! Made it for a party and served it with carrots, celery and wheat crackers. Later I ate some leftovers with tortilla chips and it was really yummy too. The one chipotle pepper in the recipe goes a long way, I definitely tasted the kick, but I liked it. For some people in the group they would have liked it with probably only half a pepper. Either way, two thumbs up from us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is a great recipe exactly as it is! I like things spicy so I threw in another chipotle pepper. Yummy! Thanks for sharing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I am so glad I found this hummus recipe!!! I usually buy the tiny containers from a local grocery store and a favorite restaurant so I was happy to give this a try. I have to say that this a fantastic recipe as I love roasted red pepper hummus!!!! My husband who has never eaten hummus is now sold on it. I will no longer purchase those tiny containers. And for those of you wondering if you need tahini, I absolutely think you do. It adds that nutty hummus flavor that I like. Yeah it's expensive, but you can make several batches from a 15 oz. can using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States