Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I have never reviewed a recipe before but I had to for this one. This dip is delicous! My new favorite. It is a battle letting it marry in the fridge for a whole hour. The only things I did differently was omitting the roasted peppers and using the liquid from the garbanzos in place of water. That was before I thought of using the water I soaked my homemade sundried tomatoes in. I will try that next time. This is good stuff, perfect snack on a hot summer's day. Thanks for posting it, I use chipotle and cilantro all the time and would have never thought of adding them to hummus, which is another favorite. 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This is outstanding! My only "real" omission was the sun dried tomatoes -- I didn't want that flavor to compete with the roasted red pepper. I also omitted the additional water called for, and instead added the liquid from one of the cans of beans. I made it previously with both cans undrained and it was a little runnier than I prefer, although the flavor was still excellent. Make this! It's great with corn chips as an appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Wonderful! I used the suggested water from my own sundried tomatoes' soak. Otherwise, I kept to the original. The big chill at the end is so important; glad I was able to hide the container even a couple of hours. Highly recommend this hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I doubled the cumin and left out the oil and tahini since I had just recently run out. Everything else I left the same and it was really good, even without the tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was good! I added extra garlic because it seemed bland at first, but once it sat overnight, it could clear up a headcold. It was still very good, but stick with the recommended amounts :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This recipe was awesome. I brought it to a dinner party and no one could stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MazzyMo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Awesome recipe. Very easy to make and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Delicious! I followed the recipes except for the tahini since I didn't have any and it was wonderful! My hubby ate so much he hardly had turkey for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I like most all hummus recipes but I have to say this one is outstanding. I added three chipotle peppers instead of one. Add one at a time and taste. This is so good, you could even eat it with your fingers and skip the crackers/bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Very good recipe, don't make the same newbie mistake I made. I was running back and forth from the kitchen to the computer to read the recipe. In brief glancing, I read it as "1 can chipotle peppers in adobo sauce." Just so nobody else makes the same dumb mistake. It's ONE PEPPER, not ONE CAN of peppers. For what it's worth, it turned out really good, but super spicy. If you like really spice, dump the whole can in, it's super flavorful. I remade the recipe correctly and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States