Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This is awesome! I have made it several times and it never fails to make me smile. Today I was out of chipotle so I used Chipotle Cholula sauce. I started with 1 Tablespooon. It is a great sauce but mild compared to a canned chipotle. I added more for my taste but it made a worthy substitute although it is far better with the real thing. Love it with vegies. Also, the sun dried tomatoes in oil can be expensive so I heated up some olive oil and added sundried tomatoes I found in bulk foods then let it sit for a couple days . Worked fine. I have also used just the dried tomatoes without soaking in oil, just chopped them up a bit first. The roasted red peppers can be done in your oven. Just use 2 small or 1 and 1/2 of med size peppers. Char under the broiler and skin before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
One of the best Hummus recipes around! The only adjustment was I increased the chipolte peppers to 2 and poured some of the "sauce" from the can into the chickpeas and added about 1/2 tblspoon of sea salt. So much can be done with this - will try adding garlic next time. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Super good! While we’re not hummus connoisseurs, this one is far better than those we’ve had before. Much better than store bought versions sold at WF. A minor point of confusion was with “6 oil-packed sun dried tomatoes”; not sure how to interpret a quantity of 6 as store bought not packaged this way. Deviated by going w/ California Sun-Dry Fat Free Smoked Sun Dried Tomatoes (used 3/4 of 3 oz. pack), and this worked out well. Thanks SAVVYHOSTESS for sharing & we’ll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I used the recipe as a base and it turned out great. I halved the recipe, used 3 garlic gloves, 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/2 tsp of cumin and a ton of sun dried tomatoes, 2 chipotle peppers and a few drops of siracha sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Nice flavor and really easy to make. I did use the juice in the cans of beans in lieu of water and added a bit more Adobo sauce and chipotle peppers since I like extra spice. Great dip with carrot sticks and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is so easy to make, and very economical! The only change I made was a little less lemon juice, for my own taste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is my go-to savory dip recipe; I'm so glad I found it! It's great for parties, snacking, and as a sandwich spread. For those who do not have a full-size food processor, you can chop/puree the roasted red peppers, chipotles, sundried tomatoes, cumin, cilantro, and black pepper in a small food processor and mix it all into a party size tub of prepared hummus. Make sure to include some of the adobo sauce out of the can of chipotles for extra smoky flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I just started making my own hummus last summer, but I got so stuck on this recipe that it's the only one I've tried so far! I also made the mistake of adding a whole can of chipotle peppers, but I love the spiciness, so I now make it that way each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbank, Iowa, USA
Living In: Abbeville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Fantastic flavor! This was a big hit at our beach outing, served with homemade tortilla chips and veggie sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I get raves every time I bring this to a function. It's super-easy to make and it is always a hit. I like to have a batch on hand for snacking on at home. This one will stay in my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy h

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States