Smoky Chipotle Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I have never reviewed a recipe before, but this is so delicious, I just had to tell somebody about it. It is so flavourful, to die for wow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Yes! Finally a hummus with some taste and sparkle. I will never buy store bought again, I made this and took some to work, even those who don't like heat could not stop. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I hate to be a downer, but I really didn't like this. I'm not even sure why: I like all the ingredients that go into it. Maybe it's because not a single ingredient really stood out in flavor. It tasted vaguely like red pepper with a slightly smoky aftertaste. I don't think the cilantro did good things for it either, and I love cilantro. Thanks for sharing anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is oh-my-stars good! I've made plenty of hummus before, but I think it is the dried tomatoes that give this particular hummus a different kick. I used smokey chipotle powder rather than the peppers in adobo because that's what I had on hand, but it was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Shopping for the ingredients for this recipe had some challenges. I had no idea how many different kinds of roasted peppers and sundried tomatoes even existed and I had to hunt to find the "Chipotle Peppers" Thanks to Unico and Casa Fiesta I found products I thought would work. My hummus is so hot! I keep walking back to eat more (with pita bread) as I type this, but hot! Oh my! I used "Flame Roasted Pepers" by Unico and I bought the 370ml jar - which I think was close to double what the recipe called for at 7oz, so I used about half. I accidently bought Julienne cut sundried tomatoes - so I guessed at how much "6 whole" would be. Chipolte Peppers from Casa Fiesta.....I used two of them because they looked small. I don't know about chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, my grocery store didn't seem to have it. I am glad I tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Great! I made it with tahini sauce instead of paste. It was GONE! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I love this hummus. I served it with crudites and crackers for a Ladies' Night In, and everyone liked it. I did not add any water, but probably doubled the olive oil. I roasted my own red pepper, and that was plenty of flavor at a fraction of the cost. Also, I only had dehydrated sundried tomatoes on hand, so I soaked those in some water before adding to the mix. Oh, and I used 2 chipotles. It was spicy, but not prohibitively so. It does make a ton, but I used the leftovers in a wrap with feta and veggies for lunches throughout the week. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Tastes great, but with all these ingredients, it actually is cheaper to buy hummus pre-made. I have also made without the sun-dried tomatoes, and it was still very good hummus, and a couple bucks cheaper. Also, the liquid overflowed my (Kitchenaid 8 cup) food processor's blade height, so if you have the smaller food processor, you should halve this recipe. I used 2 chipolte peppers. It turned out 'medium' spicy:perfect for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Fantastic! I used two chipotle peppers instead of one for more kick and it was great! (Thank you for the tip that it was one PEPPER, not one CAN!) Probably my favourite flavour of hummus, and it was a hit at an event I cooked for the other day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is the very best hummus I have ever had anywhere as well as the easiest to make. I love it. It works well for pita chips and things...but what my husband and I most often use it for is to make sandwich wraps. Smear this hummus on a tortilla with romaine lettuce, thinly sliced onion, and sandwich meat of your choice....extremely delicious but most importantly, it saves a lot of calories and fat to use this instead of using mayo anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States