Smoky Black Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
Excellent recipe! Very easy to make and tastes delicious. The "smokey" flavor sets this dish off wonderfully. I made two small modifications because of my personal preferences -- I eased up a tad on the jalepenos and used soy bacon bits. I would never have thought to add the molasses and brown sugar, but they rounded the dish off nicely, giving the beans a more mellow flavor. This is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrannyGamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Instead of pickled jalapeno peppers, I used a 4 oz. can of diced jalapeno peppers and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I make this recipe regularly but I rarely have the forethought to pre-soak beans.. so I just use canned black beans. It's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I like the flavor of this recipe a lot, though it surprised me as I guess I was expecting something a little more southwest and it reminds me instead of Boston Baked Beans, only with turtle beans. For my own preferences I cut the sugar back to a tablespoon and added chipotle en adobo and a flick of fresh chopped cilantro. I'm sure it is great over chicken but, it is also wonderful with vegetarian protein substitutes like quorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
These are great! My husband AND kids like them. I sometimes make them without the bacon and less br. sugar and they are still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I don't really care for black beans, but Husband loves them, and he didn't like this at all. The sweet/spicy/smokey flavors just don't work. I ended up throwing most of it away. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Very good base recipe- I used less sugar added fresh garlic, chopped bacon not really patted dry after frying instead if grease
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
We found that this recipe lacked something in taste and ended up dumping in a very large can of baked beans to give it more flavor. We also had to add a cup of water (possibly because we're at high elevation?), so not sure if that diluted what flavor was supposed to be there; but we probably would not make this again in the future, especially using dried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States