Smokin' Scovilles Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenG219
Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This one is amazing good. Who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
The hot cocoa got me all intrigued and I am thankful I gave it a shot. Very good turkey chili! Excellent combination of flavors. I only had jalapeno so used that instead of habanero and omitted liquid smoke but added extra 1/2 tsp smoked paprika, 1/2 tsp cumin. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Dee-lish! I usually prefer to leave my chili for 24 hours to let the flavours meld but didn't feel like making two meals tonight so we ate it right away. The beer made it more watery than I like so I added an extra can of kidney beans. My trick is to mash the extra beans up quite a bit first. They really thicken the pot. I wanted to skip making a side salad (must be REALLY lazy tonight!) so I threw in a couple of handfuls of shredded carrot. I'm looking forward to having the leftovers tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Pretty good chilli, I used Blair's ghost pepper for the hot sauce and didn't happen to have any beers left for this. Didn't ad the corn either. Instead of liquid smoke I had smoked chipotle powder and I used cocoa and brown sugar instead of hot chocolate. I'd like to try it using beer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
My hard to please husband loved this chili. He said he would never have known it was turkey instead of ground beef. I followed the recipe except substituted a couple jalapenos for the habanero and 3 dark chocolate Hershey kisses for the hot chocolate mix. Very good recipe- I live in Texas and am making it two weeks in a row - in April - at hubby's request!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Followed the recipe except for these changes: heaping measurements of spices; added extra beer and liquid smoke and worcestershire sauce; used nesquick "less sugar" variety chocolate milk powder to taste instead of instant hot cocoa since that's all I had at home; used less red chili pepper flakes; omitted hot sauce at the end. Love the ratio of turkey meat to beans. Enjoyed the sweetness of the corn in there. The flavors are complex and layered. The cheese, sour cream and scallions juxtapose the heat from the chili. My husband does not love super spicy foods like I do, but he thoroughly enjoyed it as well. A hearty, relatively healthy chili that will remain in my rotation. I can't wait to taste it tomorrow again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I use jalapeño instead of habanero because I'm a big chicken. But this chili is my favorite! I love to add other spices like nutmeg and ground cloves, and let all the spices cook a little with the meat and vegetables, before adding the liquids and tomatoes. I've made it quite a few times this winter, as we have had so much snow. Great recipe for hibernating by a cozy fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by editchik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Spicey, even without adding a habanero pepper. I had to add a 48 oz jar of Prego because there wasn't any liquid in the dish at all. If you want to eliminate the sodium used in the canned tomatoes and corn, there was appx 2.5 cups of chopped tomatoes after draining the liquid. For the corn, you could use frozen instead of canned. I'm on the fence with this recipe, since I feel like I didn't experience the full flavour since I had to add so much Prego. Update: The next day, this was very good with the changes I described above. So, I'm giving this 3 stars for the original recipe and 5 stars with the changes I made to salvage the original 3 star recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This had so much flavor, I was so impressed that turkey could be this flavorful in Chili. My husband was so ecstatic when he tasted it and also found out I used turkey. So awesome, Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Simple Turkey Chili

See how to make a simple but hearty turkey chili with beans.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States