Smokin' Jack BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Great bbq sauce with ribs! Halved the whiskey and used Crown Royal (canadian rye whiskey) instead, and no jalapenos or coriander but a dash of chilli powder, and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Excellent BBQ sauce! I used Hunt's salt-free ketchup and "No Salt" salt substitute in place of the kosher salt to produce a sodium free version (due to high blood pressure problems). I also used minced garlic and minced onion in place of the garlic and onion power to give it some texture. I did have some trouble trying to bring it to a boil over medium heat, air bubbles just kept rising and bursting on top, splattering the stove and wall. I ended up dumping the whole pot into the slow cooker and simmered it in there for 4 hours which worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This is a great BBQ sauce! I don't think I will ever buy it again, just make it at home with organic ingredients :) I don't even boil it and it tastes amazing as soon as it is mixed together! I did boil it the first time but it was too long ago for me to compare the taste. So if you don't have time, just mix the ingredients together and you will be happy! Thanks for the great recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Wonderful with only a couple changes to use what I had on hand. Omitted molasses, used 3/4 cup of red wine vinegar and about 3/4 cup of white vinegar. Also, several tablespoons of Franks and 2 additional tablespoons of prepared mustard in addition to dry mustard. Omitted smike. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This BBQ sauce is the Bomb!!!! I have to admit that I don't measure the seasonings just kinda eyeball them (it's an Italian thing) and I just throw a 7 oz can of Chipotles in adobo sauce in the blender with the vinegar and Jack Daniels and blend till smooth! I have used this for Tailgates. on wings, on pulled pork on anything and everything. Every body loves it! Just made a batch for Superbowl Sunday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have made this my go to recipe for BBQ Sauce. No recommendations, it works even if you have to miss something it's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very good, Thanks!! Definitely a mega keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is delicious! The chipotle in Adobo sauce made the difference. The whiskey also added great flavor. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made this for 10 servings and because I was looking for something not too sweet, made the following adjustments. I first sauteed some onions and then added the sauce ingredients. I used 1 cup tomato sauce and 1.5 cups ketchup. Instead of 2 T of apple cider vinegar, I used 3. I added about 2T freshly chopped garlic. I didn't have molasses or whiskey and used 1.25 tablespoons maple syrup and 1/4 cup apple juice respectively.I also didn't have smoked paprika and just used plain paprika instead. I omitted the brown sugar completely. Plan is to place it in the slow cooker with some ribs overnight. Sauce right now is just a little tangy with some kick, but not overpowering. For those who like it spicy, would recommend adding more adobo chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Made mostly as-is and this is CRAZY good! Used a bit more chipotle peppers for some heat. I've made this 2 ways; 1 using the whiskey, and 1 using 1/2 cup apple juice poured in after it's done cooking. I think we actually liked the juice one better, but they're both fantastic! I simmered the sauce for probably about an hour, and it thickened up well. Important note: 1/2 recipe makes PLENTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States