Smokey's Cat Food (Cold Salmon Spread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Made this for Christmas appetizer. Used smoked salmon caught up north by a friend. I used original flavor cream cheese and served with cocktail rye. Everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This recipe is a keeper! Made a few modifications: used the 14 oz can of pink salmon, 1/2 a small tub of good smoked salmon cream cheese, a few drops liquid smoke, 1 tbsp horseradish, lemon juice and 3 finely chopped green onions. Also added some dried dill, a few shakes worchestershire sauce and a few shakes tabasco. Added a tiny amount of salt. The key is letting it sit in the fridge for at least a couple hours to let the flavors marry a bit. Served on Wasa rye crispbread. I will be making this for all my get-together from now on! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
It worked really well for a low-carb snack with some deep-fried low carb tortillas used as a chip. It was maybe a little too fishy tasting for me so if I make it again, I'll try it with regular cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
We made this for our hoomin and she says "nom nom." Thank you Smokey! from whataFRUIT's LOLcats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whataFRUIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by flyin_brian95
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Loved it. Had a can of salmon in my cabinet that had been there forever. Didn't really know how to use it, so I tried this. Now if it wasn't for the cost of canned salmon I would be making this all the time. Used two tablespoons of horseradish and regular cream cheese. Omitted the onions and parsley flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
I love smoked salmon! This is a nice change from traditional smoked salmon with cream cheese on crackers. I also like the fact that this is a much more reasonable way of getting those flavors. Philly makes a salmon cream cheese in a tub. Although not labeled smoked salmon it does contain smoke in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Good low-carb recipe.. Made with 8 oz. regular cream cheese.. couple of drops of liquid smoke gave it that "smoked salmon" taste.. We ate this on celery and cucumbers.. My husband enjoyed it..Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Had no salmon cream cheese on hand, but did have regular cream cheese (whipped) and liquid smoke. I think it would have been delectable had I used less liquid smoke. It was ok otherwise. I gave it a 4 stars based on what I think it would have tasted like with the salmon cream cheese... will update next party opportunity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Yum yum yum! Because I'm pregnant I try to stay away from tuna, and have been trying to find ways to use canned salmon. This is a winner in my book. Next I might try to find a way to make it a salad for a sandwich. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Needing to make a Holiday dip and NOT wanting to go to the store - I made this with some modifications. One can of salmon, 8 oz of regular cream cheese, green onions (4). A squirt of lime juice in plastic lime. Upped the horseradish to 1T and added liquid smoke (to taste). YUMM-YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States