Smokey Tequila-Lime Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Great marinade! I used minced garlic vs. garlic powder and used this for chicken kabobs. I let this marinate for 8 hours and skewered some red and green peppers, onion, and cherry tomatoes. I grilled this over charcoal and it came out great. I served this with "Lime Cilantro Rice" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I made this with boneless, skinless chicken breasts. It was very easy to make and was delicious. I also marinated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This is a great base marinade; for chicken wings, I did change it up a little bit. Into a large plastic bag, I minced 5 garlic cloves and a small fresh onion from the garden. Added 1 teaspoon of salt and fresh-cracked black pepper; no cayenne. Added 2 TEASPOONS of liquid smoke, juice from a large lime, 1/4 cup of Patron Tequila, 1/4 cup of extra-virgin olive oil, included the cilantro, and a tablespoon of honey. My dozen chicken wings were whole (with all three parts). Washed, dried & slashed interior to the bone so marinade could get into meat. Added them to the bag, massaging into the wings a few times over 6 hours in the frig. Then I skewered the wings so they were spread out along the metal skewer. Grilled over medium-high heat on a mesquite wood fire, turning now and then for a total of 15 minutes. The wings will tend to flame, due to the oil, so be ready to knock the fire down so skin won't burn. Basted them with the remaining marinade, but NOT the last 5 minutes, as the raw chicken was in that marinade after all. But that last 5 minutes, I sprinkled garlic and onion powder on them. My husband likes things to be hot, so I provided him with a little dish of cayenne and he dipped wings into that, took a bite of wing, then a bite of fresh raw onion. He said this recipe is a keeper! I do believe that high-quality fresh ingredients are the secret to making recipes their very best. Thanks to Dale for submitting this and all the reviewers for your input!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I didn't have any onion powder and used less garlic powder, cayenne pepper and no liquid smoke. I marinated the chicken breasts overnight and they turned out really well! We could taste all of the flavor components except the cilantro, which I'll probably leave out next time. And there will be a next time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I wasn't going to be grilling my chicken, so I didn't use the liquid smoke, but other than that followed exactly; I marinaded the chicken overnight then used it to make jalapeno chicken. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
All we could taste was the smoke. Next time I think I will add real garlic and real onion and leave the smoke out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I made this minus the liquid smoke as I did not have any and used fresh garlic vs. the powder. I used it on a pork tenderloin and it was very good. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
What a great marinade! I used a Mesquite flavored liquid smoke, and cut the lime down a little, as I'm not a huge fan. Also omitted the cilantro for the same reason. We used it for both beef and chicken for a fajita bar - then added a little cornstarch to make a sort of spicy gravy for those that wanted it. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Silverton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I made this last night as a marinade for chicken wings. I took some of the reviewer's comments and used fresh onion and garlic instead of the powders. I also decreased the liquid smoke to 2tsp instead of 2T because I was afraid it would be too smoky and that we wouldn't like it. At first taste of the marinade alone, I didn't like it at all. All I could taste was the tequila. I was afraid to move forward with my dish, but I did anyway. I was pleasantly surprised while grilling them that they looked and smelled amazing. One bite and I was hooked! I will continue to make this and try it with other meats as well. I'm so glad I didn't go with my first impression of the marinade. The alcohol just needed to burn off and what's left is dang good! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I made for a Cards tailgate as tacos. Served with shredded cabbage, pico de gallo and other salsas. Light and fresh tasting.Easy for tailgating.Big Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cilantro-Lime Dressing

A tangy dressing that’s perfect with grilled chicken salads.

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States