Smokey Clamicken Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Great tasting chowder! Although the recipe doesn't say so, I assumed that the bacon gets crumbled and put into the soup. Also, I doubled the potatoes (2 LARGE Idahos) and the chicken (1 lb. instead of 1/2), as I prefer a lot of "stuff" in my chowder. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I have made this several times and I love it. Now I use it as a base for all different types of chowder. Tonight I am making Smoked Salmon Corn Chowder. I am adding corn and salmon in place of the chicken and clams - delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Estes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
sosososososos good! my whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great! Next time I will omit the salt. I did add extra chicken bullion. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by devilgirlmd
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
OOOOO MYYYYYY GOD SO GOOD TOOK A LITTLE LONG BUT ONCE MY MOTHER HELPED AND CHOPPED EVERYTHING UP WENT WAY FASTER. THIS WAS PROBABLY ONE OF THE BEST RECIPES THAT I HAVE MADE FROM THIS SITE. FOLLOWED IT EXACTLY BUT WE DID CHOP THE BACON UPP AN ADDED IT. THE PEPPER GAVE IT A BIT OF A KICK ENOUGH TO GET YOUR NOSE RUNNING BUT IT WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN AS GOOD WITH OUT IT. CANT REALLY TELL THE DIFFERENCE WITH TYHME. PS I HATE ONIONS AND CELERY BUT AS MY MOM SAID IT GIVES IT FLAVOR AND BY THE TIME ITS DONE COOKING YOU CANT REALLY TELL THERE IN THERE. WILL MAKE AGAIN FOR MY UBER CHEF GRANDMOTHER WHO SAYS I WONT GET A HUSBAND CAUSE I CANT COOK. SHE WILL THINK I AM AMAZING WHEN I MAKE IT FOR HERE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilgirlmd

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was "Awesome "says my husband..me on the other hand only gave it a 4. For those of you who don't like too much "thyme" only add half. It killed it. Other than that I will half it next time and it's a TOTAL 5 Stars! Quick note: the butter makes this dish to perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Bricker

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Really enjoyed this, so did my husband who doesn't generally like clams. Terrific mix of flavors, seems like an unusual pairing. I also used milk to lighten it up a bit and turkey bacon. Makes great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMcGuire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Yum! I added a bit of extra chicken boullion and skipped the carrots. The cumin really added to the taste! Taste better the 2nd day after the flavors have mixed. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
thought I had clams on hand, but didn't, so I made this per original recipe without the clams, and it was EXCELLENT as it was. Don't think I would like the clams anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bikerchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States