Smokey Clamicken Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Sooooo tasty and flavorful! We will make this again! Even my 5 and 10 year old kids loved it! We added a little extra chicken broth towards the end. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillbaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Our family really loved the flavor of this chowder - albeit with a few changes. I left out the cumin and added only 1/2 tsp of the red pepper flakes. This was plenty of zip for our children's tastebuds! To lighten the recipe I used milk instead of half and half and increased the flour by a tablespoon to keep it thick. I also didn't add the butter at the end and left out the cheese (although the cheese would have been good). The soup doesn't look terribly appetizing, but the flavor is fantastic! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
GREAT RECIPE, EVEN MY WIFE WHO DOESN'T CARE FOR CLAM CHOWDER ENJOYS THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
thought I had clams on hand, but didn't, so I made this per original recipe without the clams, and it was EXCELLENT as it was. Don't think I would like the clams anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bikerchickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Yum! I added a bit of extra chicken boullion and skipped the carrots. The cumin really added to the taste! Taste better the 2nd day after the flavors have mixed. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaori Thier

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Really enjoyed this, so did my husband who doesn't generally like clams. Terrific mix of flavors, seems like an unusual pairing. I also used milk to lighten it up a bit and turkey bacon. Makes great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMcGuire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was "Awesome "says my husband..me on the other hand only gave it a 4. For those of you who don't like too much "thyme" only add half. It killed it. Other than that I will half it next time and it's a TOTAL 5 Stars! Quick note: the butter makes this dish to perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rehders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Photo by devilgirlmd
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
OOOOO MYYYYYY GOD SO GOOD TOOK A LITTLE LONG BUT ONCE MY MOTHER HELPED AND CHOPPED EVERYTHING UP WENT WAY FASTER. THIS WAS PROBABLY ONE OF THE BEST RECIPES THAT I HAVE MADE FROM THIS SITE. FOLLOWED IT EXACTLY BUT WE DID CHOP THE BACON UPP AN ADDED IT. THE PEPPER GAVE IT A BIT OF A KICK ENOUGH TO GET YOUR NOSE RUNNING BUT IT WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN AS GOOD WITH OUT IT. CANT REALLY TELL THE DIFFERENCE WITH TYHME. PS I HATE ONIONS AND CELERY BUT AS MY MOM SAID IT GIVES IT FLAVOR AND BY THE TIME ITS DONE COOKING YOU CANT REALLY TELL THERE IN THERE. WILL MAKE AGAIN FOR MY UBER CHEF GRANDMOTHER WHO SAYS I WONT GET A HUSBAND CAUSE I CANT COOK. SHE WILL THINK I AM AMAZING WHEN I MAKE IT FOR HERE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by devilgirlmd

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Great! Next time I will omit the salt. I did add extra chicken bullion. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States