Smokey Chipotle Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
If you really enjoy that smokey flavor there are tons of chipotle recipes on the internet. I take a can of chipotles (undrained) and puree it until smooth. Put it in a small jar and refrigerate. This is called chipotle paste. You can add a teaspoon or so to any recipe to add that smokey taste. I use it in my chicken broth for soups, cook chicken tenders in a mixture of cream cheese and chipotle in my small crockpot, add some to ketchup or your favorite BBQ sauce, make a Denver omelette and add a little before cooking. The possibilities are endless and chipotle paste is a little addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Best Meatloaf ever, the whole family loved it, and the leftovers are just as delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was very good! We are not usually meatloafers but I happened to have all the ingredients on hand and gave it try. I did not use a loaf pan but formed a loaf on a foil lined pan. Worked great! It even sat in the oven an extra hour covered with foil (with the oven off) waiting for the DH to get home. Still hot and yummy! Really good flavor. Lots of kick. Served it with some cheesy rice. Can't wait to try it with elk meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMY WIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Where do I start? As a vegetarian that often cooks meat dishes for others, it is really hard to try new things. Being unable to 'taste test' dishes leaves an element of surprise to those that are eating what I cook. I double the recipe, but silly me I forgot to purchase double the ground beef and an extra can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. I ended up adding bread crumbs due to the grocery cart error. Very minimal preparation in this dish which was nice, because I was making stuffed chicken breast at the same time! At any rate, my wonderful man stated that it was the best meatloaf that he has ever had!! So, I guess being a vegetarian I didn't do too bad making my first meatloaf!!! Thanks for the recipe! I am sure that this will be something that I make often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Wow this meatloaf is kick butt! Best I've ever made! Great flavor combination. I did not include the peppers, b/c I have small kids. Just used the adobo juice, and it was just enough spice. I also used bread crumbs instead of oatmeal. I cooked it on a wire rack inside a cookie sheet. It smelled wonderful while cooking & tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
HOLY COW!!! This is absolutely awesome!!! I found this recipe this morning and made it for dinner. My whole family loves it!!! It's so much better than my meatloaf recipe!! This was so easy to make!!! Everybody needs to try this even if you don't like meatloaf you will LOVE this!!! Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I generally change things up here and there for recipes, but made this as stated and it was great! I used 93% lean beef and might go up to 96%. I also used a tangy BBQ sauce versus sweet. For baking it, I lined a baking sheet with foil and put the entire loaf pan on it and happy I did because it did splatter a bit. I also used a meat thermometer and baked to 157 degrees and it raised to 161 when it came out of the oven. Perfect, but took longer than an hour. Definitely let it rest for about 10-15 minutes so that it's not falling apart when you cut into it. Next time I plan to use a muffin pan so that there's more crunchy stuff along the sides and won't take as long to bake. Using the leaner meat (93%), I recalculated the calories to be 237 per serving, 9.9 g fat (3.4 sat), 10.4 g carb, 1.2 g fiber, 25.4 g protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was very moist and flavorful. I didnt have celelry salt, so I substituted seasoned salt and added a couple tablespoons of milk to the egg mixture. It was not too spicy, in fact I was anticipating it to be more spicy than it was. The mild smokey flavor was just right. For those who like a bit more spice, I would reccomend adding an extra chipotle. I cant wait for the leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulabelle67

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is the best meatloaf ever! I followed the recipe to the letter, which I rarely do, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Exeter, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was really great! I used Panko instead of oatmeal and added more topping...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tillyleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States