Smoked Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Great, easy recipe. I think articqueens problem was that she didn't realize that smoked turkey is very pink. It is done, the temperature should be above 170, but the meat will look raw because smoking releases nitrites causing it to be very pink. I don't think her turkey actually was raw, just looked that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
what a tasty treat for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Hi. This is a great recipe even for a first timer. I smoke two birds at a time (hate to leave empty space), one brined and one plain. Never had a bad bird. Been doing it for a long time. It takes up to 15 hours or more (for two big birds). Nice and juicy. For the person who reviewed the the raw bird, all I can say is, GET REAL. Never use Matchlight charcoal or for that matter any lighter fluid. First is leaves a very bad taste, and second, Matchlight chacoal burns fast and complete. This will not last the time to smoke the bird. Also you should know that smoked birds will always have a pinkish color. This is due to the chemical reaction with the smoke and the proten in the meat. It is the same temp. as when you take it out of the oven. To the first timers who whould like to try smoking a bird, don't let that review scare you away. My first bird was great. Follow instruction and get the facts. Happy smoking ya'll
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
It is nice to see someone else has found the art of simplicity. I have been smoking turkeys with this same recipe for about 15 years. They turn out tasteing like smoked turkey not ham! Only suggestions I would make is to be sure and use a water smoker and place the bird on his brest (butt up in the air). Both suggestions help to keep the brest meat moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Great recipe...terrific flavor! I had never used a smoker before and it came out perfectly. Not sure what the problem was with the underdone turkey in another review, but this method is pretty well fool-proof! My smoker directions did explicitly say NOT to use Match Light charcoal. We did use a roasted garlic butter rub under the skin that added a nice flavor to the bird as well. We simply roasted a full head of garlic in the oven and squeezed it in some softened butter and rubbed it in. Thanks Glenn! Not sure we'll ever fix turkey another way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I am smoking this as I type this reveiw, so dont know what I am reviewing yet. But I do have SERIOUS questions about whomever this company is that did the nutritional details. Geeze, this is turkey, with no fixins...How in the heck are they thinking there is 800+ calories, and 40+ grams of fat in Turkey. Please someone let me know they are as crazy as I think they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
My dad has made turkey this way for years. It really is simple and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I used a turkey breast and this turned out fabulous...tender...juicy... smokey! I'm not sure what was going on with the person whose turned out Raw but it sounds like her charcoal went out and she didn't know it. This is a great way to make turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST RECIPES I HAVE TRIED,WOW!! DID MAKE A COUPLE CHANGES THOU,, AND THE SECOND BIRD CAME OUT BETTER,, FIRST OF ALL I USED TRUE HARDWOOD CHARCOAL,MAN MADEB RIQUTES HAVE A BONDING AGENTS TO HOLD IT TOGETHER AND TAKE AWAY FROM THE FLAVOR,,THE OTHER IDEA WAS I USED APPLE WOOD FOR THE SMOKE, THE APPLE WOOD IS MORE MELOW AND NOT AS HARSH,, THANK YOU GLEN FOR A GREAT IDEA,,I ENDED UP SMOKEING 6 TURKEYS USEING THIS METHOD,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
I'm not sure where Arcticqueen messed up but it is very obvious that she messed up somewhere. This is one good bird (if done right). It comes out very tender and moist and has just the right amount of smoke flavor to it. Just for a little variation I added a quart of orange juice to the water pan. We WILL be using this recipe again. Just a couple of hints; DO NOT keep looking at bird (or whatever you are smoking), just keep the fire going and trust what is happening. And secondly, know what the temp of the meat you're cooking is supposed to be and for your family's sake USE a meat thermometer to check meat before pulling it off the smoker. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Turkey and Spring Pea Fettuccine

See how to make a rich and creamy, smoked turkey pasta sauce.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States