Smoked Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
GREAT RECIPE!!! EASY for MOST!! JUST HAD to leave a review to show that STUPID ppl should NEVER try to SMOKE AYTHING!!! ARTCIQUEEN prbly had a hard time keeping the PAPER LIT as they TRIED to SMOKE their BIRD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRYROLFE
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
We brined our turkey first with an apple juice brine overnight. We then stuffed it with oranges, onions, carrots and celery. We used apple/cherry chips to the charcoal also. We cooked our 15 lb turkey about 3.5-4 hours on a Big Green Egg at 300 degrees until the temp reached 180. It remained VERY juicy and delicious!!! See photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
A fully cooked smoked turkey will show some pink on the inside.Use your meat thermometer. If you're at 165 in the breast and 180 on the thigh - you're smoked and fully cooked. Most of the pink areas are near the bones, the central meat areas will look like ordinary "white" turkey meat. Pink is OK if the temperature is right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Mine burneed a little however, it was still very juicy inside. It was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Ours didn't take but only 3 hours on a 10 pound bird. Delicious! Looking forward to all of our turkeys being cooked this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I've been doing my meats like this for years, and turkey is best done this way (I usually rub the bird with butter then spinkle onion power, garlic powder, salt & peper on it or creol seasoning, it's great!)I've only had 1 bird turn out bad,{which was probably articqueen's problem too, not enough air flow and coals went out) other than that everything else was a hit. I don't have a smoke, so i use a barrel type smoker/grill and put my coals on one side and meats/birds on other to cook on indirrect heat, this way it'll never burn on the outside, but, nice and juicy on the inside. just make sure you have an accurate meat thermometer to insure you bird is done thouroughly 165 -180 degrees (f) no less and preferrably no more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDW3264

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Deposit, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Excellent recipe. I used chunks of wet maple from my woodpile instead of hickory chips and this worked well (spray the coals and wood with water once in awhile to keep the fire from flaring up). The turkey had two bags of giblets...I took one out and didn't catch the second bag until I started carving the bird. The liver and gizzards smoked along with the bird and they were exquisite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Glen....You The Man! Broke in my new Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker with this recipe and WOW. Very nice recipe. Whole family loved the smoked Turkey. Will definitely being making another in the not so distant future! Once again Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mg5555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Very tasty bird! So glad men love smoking food. Jacques started about 4am and kept watch for about 10 hours. (including time to get the smoker up and ready for the bird). Very moist and worth Jacques' effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Great, easy recipe. I think articqueens problem was that she didn't realize that smoked turkey is very pink. It is done, the temperature should be above 170, but the meat will look raw because smoking releases nitrites causing it to be very pink. I don't think her turkey actually was raw, just looked that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Turkey and Spring Pea Fettuccine

See how to make a rich and creamy, smoked turkey pasta sauce.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States