Smoked Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Best bird ever. Followed instructions to a T . I have had many suggestions on how to do this from family and friends but simplicity tastes sooo good. I don't know how Arctic Queen could put a turkey in at 240 degrees for 18 hours and it be raw like she said. It is not possible the laws of physics must not apply to her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I basically followed this recipe to the letter. The meat turned out moist and had a good flavor. Some notes: -Get a remote thermometer. It doesn't matter what temperature it is in the smoker, if your meat isn't 175-180, it ain't done. There's no other way to know that than with a remote thermometer. As other people pointed out, you don't want to lift the lid of your smoker even once, or you loose all of your heat, so a remote thermometer is a must. -When you put your thermometer in, make sure that the pin is entirely surrounded by meat as much as possible, particularly the tip. -Don't use lighter fluid. I used one of those electric starters. It's a loop that gets really hot when you plug it in. Works like a charm. -Get extra charcoal. We ran out and had to finish the cooking in the oven. -Turkey turns golden almost right away. This is to be expected. It won't get burnt if you leave it in longer. -It cooked in about 3 hours for me, which was much faster than I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I used an 8lb breast and smoked it for just about 7.5 hrs . I soaked the hickory chips overnight. Turkey turned out great! I will be doing this again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
i just cooked my 14lb turkey today using this recipe. I have a masterbuilt digital electric smoker, you dont have to open the door to feed chips. I decided to open up the door after only 4 1/2 hours of smoking @ 240 degrees. My turkey was falling off the bone done. I actually think it is over done with the breast a bit dry. Just thought i would add this for you ppl with the newer type smokers. I will try using a temp of 220 on my next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
nummy nummy nummy!!!! I've always eaten my dad's smoked turkey and never did one on my own until today. Being Christmas eve....Thank God It took little to no effort and it was fabulous!!! Wasn't planning on making a turkey for Christmas but hey it was free ;-). Followed the directions to a T, with my electric smoker. And the turkeys skin was that amber leather that kept all the juicies in and meat suculant! Will totally make the bird again this way. I even threw in 5 chicken leg quarters in the smoker with the turkey and my husband and son said it tasted like cowboy heaven! Totally pleased! TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I have smoked turkeys for years like this and this is a great recipe. My turkey was always the first to go. The only reason I can think of that would give "Arcticqueen" the problems she had is that she did not thaw the turkey before putting it in the smoker. The turkey must be completely thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have smoked everything under the sun. Smoked turkey is great! But 180 degrees will leave your turkey like sawdust! 160 in the breast is best, and it will still be cooking while it rests. (Brine it and it will always be juicy.) Also, smoking a Turkey at 240 degrees will take a full day and half a night to reach those kind of internal temperatures. By then the outside of the turkey will be like rubber. Cook it first and finish it on the smoker. It will be perfect and WAY faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yiddishlion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
pretty much how i smoke a turkey, except i use an electric smoker and use hickory chunks. pretty fool proof, takes me more like 8 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I really liked this recipe! But I had a problem with my smoker, which wasn't getting hot enough, so six hours into the smoking, I transferred the turkey to the oven and finished cooking it at 400 degrees for 1 hour. It was very good, but I recommend adding turkey gravy for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Simple and spot on. The weight/time/temperature ratio works out perfect. Of course, always use a thermometer to make sure it's done. I'm partial to using pecan chips which are kind of sweet and mild and give the bird a nice golden color. Also, a quick massage of olive or peanut oil and a rub of kosher salt, cracked black pepper, and rosemary are a nice touch. But if you're looking for a simple, delicious bird this recipe will get you there in a jiffy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Bailey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Turkey and Spring Pea Fettuccine

See how to make a rich and creamy, smoked turkey pasta sauce.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How To Carve a Turkey

See a few simple tricks for carving the holiday bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States