Smoked Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
No one in my family liked this soup. I new the amount of pepper asked for would be too much for my sensitive children so I only put half the amount of pepper in. It was still too peppery for me and my kids wouldn't eat it. My husband likes spicy peppery food and he didn't like it either. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Very hearty, flavorful soup. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of omitting the celery and curry powder since I didn't have any on hand, and I don't think any changes are needed. Good use of leftover turkey, will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Awesome soup! I doubled the curry because we love the flavor it brings to poultry. I used the smoked carcass to make the broth, then added chunks of breast meat to give it more substance. I personally thought the recipe was perfect just the way it is, but my wife would have liked it better if I left out the cream. I thought it was great both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin R Kenner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Made this a couple of time's now with alternating turkey or chicken and one night for something different used ground turkey and sausage it turned out excellent thanks for sharing this one is a keeper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Now one of my favorite homemade soups. It was easy to make and delicious. Instead of using boullion cubes I replaced the water with a combination of turkey and vegetable broth. I made this recipe originally post Thanksgiving and had a number of items on hand. Also I used one cup heavy whipping cream to avoid going to market instead of half and half- this made for a heavier hearty soup more like stew but delicious! Great recipe heavier or lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Great soup! I roasted the Turkey legs and left out the half and half to make it healthier. Used homemade turkey broth. Used half the curry called for because my husband isn't a curry fan. Took others advice and added some red pepper flakes. Husband said this may be the best soup I have made. Next time I think we will go with the full curry. I doubled the recipie as we like to freeze portions for quick meal after work. Was great re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
What a wonderful soup! So rich and satifying. I prepared this with leftover slow-cooked turkey breast, just cubed and added a few drops of liquid smoke for a delicious smokey taste. I doubled the curry, wow, the curry really makes this soup. Also used a cup or so of heavy cream instead of the published amount of 1/2 & 1/2, as that's what I had on hand. Highly recommended & a definite do-over. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I had two smoked turkey drumsticks in the freezer I was looking to use up and found this. I stuck to the recipe except for leaving out the cloves and using Penzy's soup base instead of boullion cubes. The curry powder is a great addition, must remember to use that more with poultry. Also, I wasn't fond of the texture of the turkey meat, and the smokiness was a bit too strong for me. That may be the fault of the brand, not the recipe. All in all a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I did not have smoked turkey legs but I did have some frozen turkey leftover from Thanksgiving that I used in this recipe. Instead of water and bouillion cubes, I used eight cups of chicken broth. I also added in one chopped red pepper and a sprinkling of red pepper flake. I don't often keep cream on hand, I used one full can of evaporated milk. Everyone enjoyed this soup, even my littlest. My husband said this is one of the best I've made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Great recipe. Everyone loved it- even my kids. I added another bouillon cube and used only 1/2 the cream for our personal taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States