Smoked Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was a fantastic use for leftover turkey and a starting recipe base for me....... I started down that road because the instructions said to add the rice at two different points. I figured the second time was the right one. I also noticed there was no salt listed (the bouillon I used didn't add a salt taste at all for me)….so I went off on a tangent….The spice mix was very nice for this soup – but I added salt, Cajun seasoning, and red pepper. I added about 12 cups of water (I felt 8 was not enough for all the spices added!)…used dried celery leaf instead of the celery…used a tiny bit of red curry paste instead of the curry powder….. I used the two legs and two wings from our turkey. I diced my onions – didn’t want them in big pieces – since everything else was in small pieces! I brought to a boil and simmered for 30 minutes. Then I took out the turkey and removed the meat and returned the meat to the pot. I then added 1 quart of buttermilk (instead of the half and half), one cup of our leftover mashed potatoes, and one small can mushroom pieces (drained)……..and brought to a simmer and maintained on low for 30 minutes. I then added 1 cup Minute Rice and ½ cup “Egg Bow” pasta and simmered for 20 minutes. Came out wonderful! Oh – also – even though it’s common sense – the recipe should mention to remove the bay leaves before serving! I do love the combination of the spices – so don’t shy from this recipe – just needed a few tweaks for me!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I left out the half-and-half, and it was still an excellent flavor. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Good soup...I didn't use smoked turkey, which probably would have been very good. But my purpose for making turkey soup was - you guessed it - using up the frozen turkey bones/meat leftover from the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This recipe is really easy to follow, with alot of ingredients that are on hand. I used the carcass of my smoked turkey from Thanksgiving- flavor was really good! The only thing is that I was hoping with the amount of half and half, that the soup would be a bit creamier/thicker, maybe more like a chowder. I used a flour/water thickener, which was okay, but found that after cooling in the fridge, the soup turned too thick, into a gel. Upon heating on the stove, the soup thinned out back to where it was. I will be posting a photo soon as well. If you want a thick soup, this is not it, but it's a thin creamy/brothy soup with alot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kukadog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
this soup was delicious! I only used half the quart of half-and-half and it was plenty creamy. Also, I added leftover chopped turkey to the soup when I added the rice. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I skipped the half-and-half after taste testing the soup. It was a little salty for my taste due to the smoked turkey which probably would have been remedied if I had added the half-and-half. Otherwise it was very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I used my own turkey broth after grilling (and using apple wood chips) a turkey breast. The flavor from the chips was lovely, and no chemicals. I sauteed the veggies, including sliced baby portabella mushrooms, to add that texture to the soup, and simmered 1/2 hour less. Loved the combination of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Was going to use BTB turkey base but only had a little left so used some chicken base too. Went heaping on curry, will go scant next time. White rice because it was already in the fridge and just a half cup of half and half. Used white meat from this recipe...http://allrecipes.com/personalrecipe/62472514/smoked-turkey-without-smoker/detail.aspx?prop31=3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Great recipe. Everyone loved it- even my kids. I added another bouillon cube and used only 1/2 the cream for our personal taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I did not have smoked turkey legs but I did have some frozen turkey leftover from Thanksgiving that I used in this recipe. Instead of water and bouillion cubes, I used eight cups of chicken broth. I also added in one chopped red pepper and a sprinkling of red pepper flake. I don't often keep cream on hand, I used one full can of evaporated milk. Everyone enjoyed this soup, even my littlest. My husband said this is one of the best I've made so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States