Smoked Turkey Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I skipped the half-and-half after taste testing the soup. It was a little salty for my taste due to the smoked turkey which probably would have been remedied if I had added the half-and-half. Otherwise it was very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
What a wonderful soup! So rich and satifying. I prepared this with leftover slow-cooked turkey breast, just cubed and added a few drops of liquid smoke for a delicious smokey taste. I doubled the curry, wow, the curry really makes this soup. Also used a cup or so of heavy cream instead of the published amount of 1/2 & 1/2, as that's what I had on hand. Highly recommended & a definite do-over. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Now one of my favorite homemade soups. It was easy to make and delicious. Instead of using boullion cubes I replaced the water with a combination of turkey and vegetable broth. I made this recipe originally post Thanksgiving and had a number of items on hand. Also I used one cup heavy whipping cream to avoid going to market instead of half and half- this made for a heavier hearty soup more like stew but delicious! Great recipe heavier or lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I used my own turkey broth after grilling (and using apple wood chips) a turkey breast. The flavor from the chips was lovely, and no chemicals. I sauteed the veggies, including sliced baby portabella mushrooms, to add that texture to the soup, and simmered 1/2 hour less. Loved the combination of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Great soup! I roasted the Turkey legs and left out the half and half to make it healthier. Used homemade turkey broth. Used half the curry called for because my husband isn't a curry fan. Took others advice and added some red pepper flakes. Husband said this may be the best soup I have made. Next time I think we will go with the full curry. I doubled the recipie as we like to freeze portions for quick meal after work. Was great re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Great recipe. Everyone loved it- even my kids. I added another bouillon cube and used only 1/2 the cream for our personal taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Made this a couple of time's now with alternating turkey or chicken and one night for something different used ground turkey and sausage it turned out excellent thanks for sharing this one is a keeper....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was a fantastic use for leftover turkey and a starting recipe base for me....... I started down that road because the instructions said to add the rice at two different points. I figured the second time was the right one. I also noticed there was no salt listed (the bouillon I used didn't add a salt taste at all for me)….so I went off on a tangent….The spice mix was very nice for this soup – but I added salt, Cajun seasoning, and red pepper. I added about 12 cups of water (I felt 8 was not enough for all the spices added!)…used dried celery leaf instead of the celery…used a tiny bit of red curry paste instead of the curry powder….. I used the two legs and two wings from our turkey. I diced my onions – didn’t want them in big pieces – since everything else was in small pieces! I brought to a boil and simmered for 30 minutes. Then I took out the turkey and removed the meat and returned the meat to the pot. I then added 1 quart of buttermilk (instead of the half and half), one cup of our leftover mashed potatoes, and one small can mushroom pieces (drained)……..and brought to a simmer and maintained on low for 30 minutes. I then added 1 cup Minute Rice and ½ cup “Egg Bow” pasta and simmered for 20 minutes. Came out wonderful! Oh – also – even though it’s common sense – the recipe should mention to remove the bay leaves before serving! I do love the combination of the spices – so don’t shy from this recipe – just needed a few tweaks for me!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I left out the half-and-half, and it was still an excellent flavor. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
this soup was delicious! I only used half the quart of half-and-half and it was plenty creamy. Also, I added leftover chopped turkey to the soup when I added the rice. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Turkey Soup

Turn leftover turkey into hearty, healthy, delicious soup.

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States