Smoked Tomato Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made some modification to the original which makes a 4 star to a 5 star. Use a 20oz can of sauce. Instead of puree use a 14.50 can of crushed tomatoes that you puree in the blender or food processor. Use no water. The amount of tomatoey sauce will help with the overwhelming herb taste that some people have described. Keep all other ratios the same. Best served with garlic bread or crostini topped with parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
I finally tried all my recipes that I have been saving from allrecipes.com and this was my favorite. It is hard to find a low fat soup that has flavor. It's rich and thick and easy to modify to your taste. Try a little habanero in it for kicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Very spicy! If you like tomatoes you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Collins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I loved it. But I added a little cheesey twist. Instead of the smoke flavoring, try using smoked gouda and cut out 1/4 cup of the heavy cream. I think it added more flavor and who doesn't like cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Tasty soup. I used skim milk and lots of s&P. Added some ricotta dumplings..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I used only a tablespoon of Italian seasoning in place of the seasonings listed and I chickened out on the smoke flavoring. But the soup was so good I didn't want to risk it! I used 1/2 a cup of water, and next time I might use a whole cup. It's very thick, but that's how I like it. Tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I doubled this for 9 women for book club and it made just enough. Followed the recipe, decreased the spices in about half, but added more basil. Such a good soup!! Will definitely make this soup again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I sauted mushrooms and fresh garlic with the dry ingredients before adding the liquid ingredients. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
We made this as is except for the smoked flavor, no idea where to find that! It was great! We didn't halve the spices like planned (boyfriend started making it before I got home) and we still loved it. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
Without adding water, it is more like tomato paste rather than soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States