Smoked Tomato Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made some modification to the original which makes a 4 star to a 5 star. Use a 20oz can of sauce. Instead of puree use a 14.50 can of crushed tomatoes that you puree in the blender or food processor. Use no water. The amount of tomatoey sauce will help with the overwhelming herb taste that some people have described. Keep all other ratios the same. Best served with garlic bread or crostini topped with parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This was a great recipe that even my 7 year old loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. I sauted mushrooms and fresh garlic with the dry ingredients before adding the liquid ingredients. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
We made this as is except for the smoked flavor, no idea where to find that! It was great! We didn't halve the spices like planned (boyfriend started making it before I got home) and we still loved it. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
I didn't add the liquid smoke because I don't deal with hot stuff very well, but this soup was still quite good with just the regular seasonings. Very filling too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
I used 1/2 of the seasonings and it was still a little too strong. I had to add a teaspoon of sugar and left out the liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was the first time I made a tomato bisque and I thought this was pretty good. I didn't have the tomato puree so I just used a medium sized tomato and diced it up. I also used 1/2 the amount for the herbs, I think using the whole tbsp would have been WAY to over-powering for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Solana Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
The taste was too strong. Next time I'll use no liquid smoke and 1/2 tsp of the herbs each. I did like the thick texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Let me first say that I love tomato soup. This recipes, however, was awful. I didn't find it too thick, but the flavor was definitely lacking. The herbs were overpowering and it was somehow bland at the same time. It was extremely disappointing. I will definitely not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
Delicious soup! I didn't have all the ingredients listed but it still turned out great! All I used was a 10.5 oz can of tomato sauce, 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream, 1/4- 1/3 cup water. Also, I used a bit less of the basil and 1/2 tsp or less of the rest of the dried herbs (didn't want it to too spicy) and no liquid smoke. My husband thought it was so delicious and I can't believe how fast it was ready for lunch! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tomato Bisque

Watch Chef John make tomato soup’s richer, silkier cousin.

Tomato Bisque II

See how to turn fresh tomatoes into an incredibly velvety bisque.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States