Smoked Standing Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
Simple but the flavor is out of this world! For real bone-deep flavor, cut the roast off the bones, slice back the fat cap, then rub seasonings all over the meat, put the fat cap back in place and tie the bones back on with cotton kitchen string. Not only will the flavor get all the way to the meat, but just cut off the strings and carving will be a snap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
It was good, but the meat was done in half the time the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
My husband cooked this for our mothers on Mothers day. This was such a hit that we rcvd calls days later thanking us for the wonderful meal. This is something that we will cook again! Note that it does take alot of time but is WELL worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I recommend cooking at 225 to 250 degrees F 10 minutes per pound for rare, 15 minutes per pound for medium, or 20 minutes per pound for well done. Use a meat thermometer to confirm doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Patience is a virtue. Now I know where that proverb originated . . . I prepared according to the review by Vorcha--seasoning under the ribs and fat cap, then tieing back. I let it cool overnight in the 'fridge. Cooking took me 10 Hrs but I stalled it after about 6 Hrs because I used a small, upright smoker and the meat was almost to temperature much quicker than I expected. So, for the remaining 4 Hrs I smoked the Prime Rib with those amazing bourbon-soaked hickory chips. I brought it back up to temperature in an hour for Christmas dinner and perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
instead of hickory chips, try apple chips, the flavor is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Superb! My husband and I tried this recipe this past Memorial Day, and it was absolutely magnificent. Thank you for sharing this one, it was well worth the wait just as you mentioned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAKSHMI5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Even tho I don't eat red meat, I must admit, this was gorgeous and my family savored and devoured every last piece. Thanks Ed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I cook this every Christmas, but in the oven. I was excited to see a recipe for smokin it, so I tried it out. The meat was good, but I agree with other posters that it cooked quick (at least on my smoker). I used a Green Egg, loaded it up with coal, added the hickory chips right before I was ready to start. I had a 5 lb bone in rib roast. Set it to 225 and let it go. Put it in at 1000 checked it 1230 and it could have been done needed a little bit more time. I wasn't able to take it off till 530. WAY over done. It had good flavor though, but you do not want to overcook this cut of meat. I also used almost a whole bottle of Mccormicks Montreal Steak Seasoning. As I said before I cook this every Christmas in the oven to perfection. I think if you have a good smoker you can cook it on there using approximately the same time you would in the oven. I rub mine with butter and put the seasoning on it when I cook it in the oven. I did the same thing when I smoked it. A couple recommendations would be to make sure you have at least 3 bones in, cut away the bone from the meat but do not sever the bone completely, rub butter or olive oil over it and put the seasoning on. Tie it together with kitchen string. If you have a good smoker, stick it in there and don't keep checking it. Check it around the time you would if you cooked it in the oven at 225-250. I will try this again, but will make sure NOT to overcook it:) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I use hickory, cherry and and apple mixed this creates a wonerfull smoke and the taste is excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States