Smoked Standing Rib Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I eliminated a lot of prep work on this recipe by coating the roast with Montreal steak seasoning, refrigerating it for one hour, and then placing it in an electric smoker at 220 degrees F. for 5 1/2 hours. I used a mixture of mesquite and pecan chips and smoked the meat for the entire time. It was moist and tender with a very nice browned crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alanfromhumboldt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This was absolutely fantastic! Make sure you use a meat thermometer to get it to the correct fineness for your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I cook this every Christmas, but in the oven. I was excited to see a recipe for smokin it, so I tried it out. The meat was good, but I agree with other posters that it cooked quick (at least on my smoker). I used a Green Egg, loaded it up with coal, added the hickory chips right before I was ready to start. I had a 5 lb bone in rib roast. Set it to 225 and let it go. Put it in at 1000 checked it 1230 and it could have been done needed a little bit more time. I wasn't able to take it off till 530. WAY over done. It had good flavor though, but you do not want to overcook this cut of meat. I also used almost a whole bottle of Mccormicks Montreal Steak Seasoning. As I said before I cook this every Christmas in the oven to perfection. I think if you have a good smoker you can cook it on there using approximately the same time you would in the oven. I rub mine with butter and put the seasoning on it when I cook it in the oven. I did the same thing when I smoked it. A couple recommendations would be to make sure you have at least 3 bones in, cut away the bone from the meat but do not sever the bone completely, rub butter or olive oil over it and put the seasoning on. Tie it together with kitchen string. If you have a good smoker, stick it in there and don't keep checking it. Check it around the time you would if you cooked it in the oven at 225-250. I will try this again, but will make sure NOT to overcook it:) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I recommend cooking at 225 to 250 degrees F 10 minutes per pound for rare, 15 minutes per pound for medium, or 20 minutes per pound for well done. Use a meat thermometer to confirm doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwightNT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irving, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I use hickory, cherry and and apple mixed this creates a wonerfull smoke and the taste is excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Even tho I don't eat red meat, I must admit, this was gorgeous and my family savored and devoured every last piece. Thanks Ed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
It was good, but the meat was done in half the time the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
instead of hickory chips, try apple chips, the flavor is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
My husband cooked this for our mothers on Mothers day. This was such a hit that we rcvd calls days later thanking us for the wonderful meal. This is something that we will cook again! Note that it does take alot of time but is WELL worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Patience is a virtue. Now I know where that proverb originated . . . I prepared according to the review by Vorcha--seasoning under the ribs and fat cap, then tieing back. I let it cool overnight in the 'fridge. Cooking took me 10 Hrs but I stalled it after about 6 Hrs because I used a small, upright smoker and the meat was almost to temperature much quicker than I expected. So, for the remaining 4 Hrs I smoked the Prime Rib with those amazing bourbon-soaked hickory chips. I brought it back up to temperature in an hour for Christmas dinner and perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Prime Rib Roast

See how to make the perfect special-occasion roast.

Foolproof Rib Roast

When you want to splurge, this rib roast recipe rocks.

How to Make Prime Rib

In this video, you'll see how to prepare the king of all beef cuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States