Smoked Sausage Oktoberfest Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
It was very good. I chose to put everything in a baking dish and put it in the oven covered until the potatoes were tender. It was quick to prepare. I used red potatoes and I cubed my apples. The only recipe change I made (other than baking it) was that I added a couple extra tablespoons of butter. I know, not as healthy but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
The flavor of this dish was balanced between sweet, sour, and smokey. It was so easy to make, although I used fresh potatoes and I had to simmer them for almost an hour before they were tender. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
We loved this take on the usual kielbasa and sauerkraut! I did peel my apples, because I don't like cooked apple skins, I omitted the potatoes because I was serving another potato dish to go along with it and I opted to bake it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 40 mins. or so. The flavors were wonderful, and I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly but I put it in a greased dish and cooked for 1/2 h at 350 after I fried up sausage and onion and it didnt turn out that great- later I put some in a frying pan with scrambled eggs and added ketchup and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Makes you listen for the oom oom pah while you eat this quick approach to Choucroute Garnie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was quite yummy even though my husband and I don't care for sauerkraut. I used a can of potatoes instead of the refrigerated ones and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I used to make a recipe similar to this, and it never turned out quite right. Simmering in the apple juice made the difference! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Made this for a potluck and it got rave reviews. I did not add the potatoes as I was to bring a "meat" dish. I only had one apple, and one bag of refrigerated sauerkraut. I threw it all in my slow cooker for ease of cooking/transport, and it was a big hit! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
The combination of the kraut and the apples is very tasty! I was not sure if I should have rinsed the kraut or not. I did not rinse it but added a tablespoon of brown sugar, as it was too tart. What are refrigerated potatoes? Not sure....I used regular potatoes and cooked the dish for an hour. I will surely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
At first I was leery with the apples, but this was a great mix of sweet and sour. I did knock the sauerkraut to 1 can and it was perfect. Oh! And make sure you drain the 'kraut!!! My husband loved it and I even got seconds (not normal for me). Will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flightless bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States