Smoked Sausage Oktoberfest Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
It was very good. I chose to put everything in a baking dish and put it in the oven covered until the potatoes were tender. It was quick to prepare. I used red potatoes and I cubed my apples. The only recipe change I made (other than baking it) was that I added a couple extra tablespoons of butter. I know, not as healthy but yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
The flavor of this dish was balanced between sweet, sour, and smokey. It was so easy to make, although I used fresh potatoes and I had to simmer them for almost an hour before they were tender. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
We loved this take on the usual kielbasa and sauerkraut! I did peel my apples, because I don't like cooked apple skins, I omitted the potatoes because I was serving another potato dish to go along with it and I opted to bake it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 40 mins. or so. The flavors were wonderful, and I will definately be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly but I put it in a greased dish and cooked for 1/2 h at 350 after I fried up sausage and onion and it didnt turn out that great- later I put some in a frying pan with scrambled eggs and added ketchup and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Makes you listen for the oom oom pah while you eat this quick approach to Choucroute Garnie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This was quite yummy even though my husband and I don't care for sauerkraut. I used a can of potatoes instead of the refrigerated ones and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I used to make a recipe similar to this, and it never turned out quite right. Simmering in the apple juice made the difference! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Made this for a potluck and it got rave reviews. I did not add the potatoes as I was to bring a "meat" dish. I only had one apple, and one bag of refrigerated sauerkraut. I threw it all in my slow cooker for ease of cooking/transport, and it was a big hit! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
The combination of the kraut and the apples is very tasty! I was not sure if I should have rinsed the kraut or not. I did not rinse it but added a tablespoon of brown sugar, as it was too tart. What are refrigerated potatoes? Not sure....I used regular potatoes and cooked the dish for an hour. I will surely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
At first I was leery with the apples, but this was a great mix of sweet and sour. I did knock the sauerkraut to 1 can and it was perfect. Oh! And make sure you drain the 'kraut!!! My husband loved it and I even got seconds (not normal for me). Will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flightless bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States