Smoked Sausage in Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
this is a good basic recipe, and i have made something like it several times before. I omit the pasta sauce, flour and water (since i usually use frozen beans)...ADD 1/4 c chopped onions, 1-2 garlic cloves, 1/2 tsp of thyme, 1/8 tsp chili powder (or to taste), 1/4 tsp cumin, a sprinkling of pepper, and garlic or onion salt to taste. sometimes i'll serve it with a baked potato, but most of the time this is an all in one meal that takes 15 minutes in a pot! my hubby adds hot sauce to it once its in his bowl, but other wise everyone loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This is a very good recipe although I did change it some. I increased the water to 2 cups and did not add the green beans to the sauce mixture as the family did not think the idea of green beans in tomato sauce would be very good and I had to agree. I served this over fluffy mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hominy, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
This was okay but nothing special -- might have been better with onions or garlic or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I thought this recipe was very tasty, as did my husband. Its not anything gourmet, but definitely very satisfying. I added a can of diced green chiles with the tomatoes, and I think it had a nice flavor. I served it over brown rice with green beans on the side. Thanks for the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astacy12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Sorry, but we really didn't care for this. While cooking, it tasted very bland, and added onion, garlic, salt and other spices just to give the sauce flavor. Not our Cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Very easy and delicious. I served it once on hoagie buns & another time over rice. It was a huge success with my family & I enjoyed it as well. I'll definately make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Beers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelayres, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Very good basic recipe! Tons of potential. I added canned green beans, along with a bag of frozen bell pepper and onion mix. I substituted regular diced tomatoes for ones with green chilis. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolemo3 :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barstow, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I did change it quiet a bit, I added bell peppers, diced unions and garlic salt and towards the end I added a splash of red wine. Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I thought this was a great basic recipe, and easy. I was looking for something to make with diced tomatoes, smoked sausage, and rice because it was what I had in the house. I browned 14 oz of smoked sausage in 2tbsp butter and 1/2 tbsp minced garlic. I didn't use any tomato sauce so I only added 1/2 cup of water and also only 1/2 lbs of green beans, and mine were frozen. I spiced it up with 1/2 Tbsp basil, 1/2 tsp salt, and 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes. Served it over rice, but it would be good over pasta too. It turned out great, the only reason I didn't give it a 5 was because I altered it a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe is fast and has a great flavor! I added some creole seasoning to spice it up a bit and served over rice with a side of green beans. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Slow-Braised Beef and Cherry Tomato Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a sensational long-simmering meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States