Smoked Sausage and Apple Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this for a cooking party. I was unsure about having a "creamy" sauce with sauerkraut, but I--and everyone else--thought the flavor was great! I couldn't find apple brandy so I used honey brandy and omitted onions to accommodate a friend. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
My husband and I really enjoyed this. The taste is very bold and kinda tangy we thought, we will definitely make it again. I didn't have the heavy whipping cream so I used half n half instead everything else followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I was really surprised at the flavor, would definitely make again, but using more sausage for the heartier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
So I didn't have to buy a whole gallon of apple cider I just purchased a small Martinelli's apple and used it. Fantastic flavor all-around! My wife is still raving about it this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Didn't like the sweet apples and sour kraut combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Loved this recipe. I didn't have apple cider/juice/brandy on hand, so I pureed an apple with a couple teaspoons of brown sugar and mixed that in with the cream and drippings. Also, I use milk or 1/2 & 1/2 because that's what I usually have on hand. It's our favorite kraut/apple dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I typically like apples and sauerkraut. I made this with a smoked turkey kielbasa. But something didn't work for me - I think it was the cream paired with the vinegar from the kraut. I'll stick to no cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Awesome recipe! Great infusion of flavors! My husband and I totally enjoyed it. I used a low fat smoked sausage and used half & half. I mixed some regular brandy and the juice from a cup of manadarin oranges instead of the apple brandy. I'm adding this to our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I used Spiced Cider in with the cream and pan drippings. Without a thickening agent, sauce didn't look like a gravy but more like curdled milk. I had alot of liquid after baking but maybe I didn't drain the kraut well enough or shouldn't have covered. The flavor was great but my husband thought it needed more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I took this dish to a pot luck and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Barbecue Smoked Sausage Pizza

Make a tantalizing, tasty BBQ pizza with smoked sausage and cheese.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States