Smoked Salmon Vodka Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
My dinner guests really enjoyed this one. Make sure you do burn off the vodka though, because I didn't at first and it was WAY too strong, like taking a bite out of a shot of vodka or something. YUCK. I had to boil the sauce for a little while to burn all the alcohol off of it. Over all, great taste made it with farafelle pasta and served it with asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This is tasty. Be careful not to over salt, as the smoked salmon will add a lot of saltieness to the sauce. This recipe makes a pretty small amount of sauce, so if you're serving more than 2 or 3 people, I suggest doubling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
I am from Scotland, the home of smoked salmon and it took this great American site to show me the best ever recipe for smoked salmon. Everyone who tries it wants to know the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
oh this is good!!!...i doubled the recipe to use up the ingreds i had...the only thing i changed was to use sweet red pepper (chopped) instead of fresh tomatoes coz i didnot have them and used 'alymers gourmet pasta sauce with shrooms' for the tom sauce otherwise...i simmered it quite awhile coz i think i used too much cream but it reduced nicely, no harsh vodka taste and well it was well worth making...will forsure recommend this recipe and i will make it again...thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
I found this recipe to be wonderful with my home-made smoked salmon but, very, very rich. I subsituted 1% milk with half & half instead of the heavy cream. The cayene pepper gave it just the right bite and the more you simmer, the thicker the sauce. No need to simmer the vodka down off of the burner however....just turn the burner down super low, it still works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Made this last night for dinner with my boyfriend and it was fabulous! Very easy and elegant. Served it over farfalle with sauteed asparagus spears on the side. I added two cloves of garlic and a chopped shallot to the sauce and a bit more onion (red) than called for. To make it healthier (and because I do not like very rich sauces on my pasta) I used half-n-half in place of the heavy cream and Smart Balance Light margarine instead of butter. I did not add any additional salt. I was worried that it would be too salty, but after adding the tomatoes (on the advice of other reviewers, added in the last few minutes of making the sauce) and mixing with the pasta, the saltiness was fine. Will definitely make again! Also, I doubled the sauce except for the salmon (chopped up 4 oz, which was a lot) and it ended up being WAY more than just two of us needed. If you are making it for 2-3 people and are eating normal-sized portions, I would not double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made this with some salmon fillets that I baked in the oven. I really liked it (although I wish I had added some garlic) but Husband wasn't so keen on the vodka flavor. He also didn't much like the super pink appearance. I give it 5 stars, he gives it 3. I served it with buttered egg noodles and fresh green beans. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
My husband and I really enjoyed this meal. I started out with a pretty deep sauce pot and was able to burn the Vodka by removing the pot from the heat and lighting it with a match. We'll definitely have this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Yummy! I made a few changes. I didn't have any smoked salmon on hand so I used one can of pink salmon. I also switched the butter for garlic butter. It came out great! Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
This was very tasty and my husband and a guest we had over the night I tried it thought it was really great. Just a note: it needs very little salt. I put in probably a quarter teaspoon and it was too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States