Smoked Salmon Vodka Cream Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This salmon sauce was the best I have tried. I did make a few changes, more out of need then want. I didn't have tomato sauce, so I added more tomatoes and some ketchup. Now, I know you are cringing at the moment, but, it was actually very good. I will try it next time with actual tomato sauce, to compare. Also, I added more salmon and it was fantastic. The other thing is, I didn't take the sauce off of the burner, but just lowered it. My husband loved this. It is a winner in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Great recipe. I've served it to guests several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Yummy! I made a few changes. I didn't have any smoked salmon on hand so I used one can of pink salmon. I also switched the butter for garlic butter. It came out great! Very easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Made this last night for dinner with my boyfriend and it was fabulous! Very easy and elegant. Served it over farfalle with sauteed asparagus spears on the side. I added two cloves of garlic and a chopped shallot to the sauce and a bit more onion (red) than called for. To make it healthier (and because I do not like very rich sauces on my pasta) I used half-n-half in place of the heavy cream and Smart Balance Light margarine instead of butter. I did not add any additional salt. I was worried that it would be too salty, but after adding the tomatoes (on the advice of other reviewers, added in the last few minutes of making the sauce) and mixing with the pasta, the saltiness was fine. Will definitely make again! Also, I doubled the sauce except for the salmon (chopped up 4 oz, which was a lot) and it ended up being WAY more than just two of us needed. If you are making it for 2-3 people and are eating normal-sized portions, I would not double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPCOOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Will make over and over...sooo good. Served over penne pasta. I did double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This dish is a winner! I made it for my husband on Valentine's Day and both of us really enjoyed it. It didn't taste overly fishy and the vodka and cayenne pepper made the sauce interesting without overwhelming the other flavours. I had no problem burning off the vodka. It was quick and easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I didn't care for this recipe, but my 4 yr old daughter really liked it. I probably won't make this again. I'll keep on searching for recipes to make with the smoked salmon my brother sends every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
jgschreiber
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Quick, easy & Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
wow, this is "the Best!" great for romantic evenings and intimate family gatherings, as well. actually, i could probably have this every week. it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zac

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States