Smoked Salmon Tortellini with Bechamel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years now, always to rave reviews! However, I do suggest doing this with baked salmon as opposed to smoked salmon as I find the smokes salmon overpowers the dish. Also, I make this recipe with broccoli instead of asparagus because it traps the sauce in the florets. Finally, I add a generous sprinkling of shredded Parmesan to the tortellini before topping it with the bechamel mixture. Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I really enjoyed this. I used fresh salmon fillets instead of smoked. I cooked them in the skillet with a tsp of olive oil before I began cooking the veggies. I cooked the salmon, set it aside, then followed the directions for cooking the vegetables in the skillet. I added much more veggies; a whole bag of mixed vegetables with corn, broccoli, red peppers, and cauliflower (it's all I had on hand.) I also substituted onion powder for real onion. I followed the rest of the recipe to a T. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I had very few of these items on hand. I only had frozen salmon filets, frozen broccoli, and half a bag of tortellini. Here's what I did... Thaw filets Cook filets in 1T butter in skillet till fish flakes easily (sprinkle with salt and pepper). Cook frozen veggies as directed till crisp-tender. Meanwhile simmer milk, onion, bay leaf, dash of ground cloves, dash of lemon pepper, dash of dried dill for 15 min. Remove onion and bay leaf. Drain the veggies and add to skillet with fish and keep warm. Also, be cooking the tortellini if you have an extra sauce pan. Melt butter in a saucepan (I used the one I cooked the veggies in) and whisk in 2T flour, then add milk mixture and whisk till blended completely. Cook over low heat until thickened and bubbly, then cook for 2 minutes more (to remove the starch taste). Add tortellini to skillet and toss everything with the sauce. The flavors were so good! Next time, I'm going to double the sauce and try it with the fresh asparagus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I found this recipe to be exceptional with the ingredients I had on hand (which is how I found it; searched mushrooms, onions, bell peppers and smoked salmon). I didn't have cloves or milk so substituted 2 tsp dill and fat free half and half. The dash of nutmeg gave a suprising hint of sweetness in the final dish. I also don't have a plethora of saute pans, so sauted the onion, mushroom, asparagus and peppers in butter in one and simmered the cream, butter, dill, bay leaf and nutmeg in another. I whisked in the flour in the same pan after removing the bay leaf. I shreded the smoked salmon and added it to the sauted veggies about 5 minutes before I added the tortellini and sauce just to heat it through. A great bowl food recipe and great use of the last of my alaskan smoked salmon before my next trip there this summer. I'm eager to see how it freezes. It's in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was pretty good! I think you've really got to be into fish to appreciate this recipe tho. I for one do enjoy my fish but I have to agree with some of the other posters on here and do suggest cutting back some. 1 package of 4/5oz. should do the trick. An array of tasty flavors in this recipe overall tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbluv00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I enjoyed this using left over grilled salmon and cod. I added salt to taste and used Smart Balance instead of butter. I was disappointed in the frozen tortellini I used, but will try again. Was good warmed up (again) for lunch, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
My husband really liked this recipe. I followed it exactly as written and used really nice salmon and good quality ingredients which I think makes all the differernce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
The base was very nice. I like the hint of nutmeg. I wanted something a beat creamier so I added in a liberal amount of parmesan cheese which was delicious! I also cut down on calories a bit by using smart balance butter substitute and skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
We just smoked two batches of trout (spawning here in MT right now). I was looking for a recipe that included smoked fish. I found this one and MAN WHAT A FIND. There were so many different textures and flavors going on it was so delicious. I doubled the whole cream sauce because we dislike dry food and used 1 1/4c heavy cream and 1 1/4 c 2% milk. I made this as a side dish but it could easily be the main dish. Served with Baslamic glazed trout and a bottle of pinot Noir. Very wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is great and easy!! I substituted angel hair pasta and cream instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States