Smoked Salmon Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I have a tip from a japanese friend of mine: before add the vinegar: heat it with two teaspoons of brown sugar until the sugar is melted (around 2-3 minutes) let it cool a little (3 minutes or so) then add to the rice, the result is great, it enhances the flavor, and the best part is that the rice is easier to gather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
A tip I learned from some Korean friends... when cutting the nori use a sharp blade dipped in water, it will make the knife slide right through instead of tearing the nori. Re-wet for each slice or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
Wow! I've always been afraid to try making California rolls because it looked so difficult...my family loves them SO much, in self defense, I found your recipe. It's authentic, and absolutely perfect and a piece of cake to make. I subbed crab instead of salmon, but will try salmon too! At our local HEB it's expensive to buy, but now, I can make my own @ less than half the price and they taste better! Fresher! Thanks for sharing! My only comment is this...when making the rolls, dip your fingers in water to spread out the rice on the nori...also, dip your very sharp knife in water too...helps to cut the seaweed very cleanly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISPENTINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
have been making similar roll for years--always made rice w/ tbsp sugar and dash salt. have used thin green onion, unsmoked lox and always toasted sesame seeds (adds good luck to your life)sometimes using thin strips yellow or red peppers. I serve w/soy+sugar+chili oil+sesame oil to dip and wasabi on the side and of course, pickeled ginger. Wrap tightly in saran twisting ends to keep filling in ends. fridge for several hours first to firm--a huge hit at parties!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
Another variation is to make the rolls inside out; you spread the rice all over a piece of nori, flip it over onto the mat lined with plastic wrap, place the filling directly on the end of the nori, roll up while every quarter turn pulling the plastic wrap tight, and then sprinkle with sesame seeds before cutting! Very beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I make this recipe often with a few variations: 1.as others have suggested, I add sugar to the rice mix 2.I don't use as much rice per roll as shown in the picture, it's too much 3.I sometimes substitute very fresh tuna for the salmon 4. I add thinly sliced scallions to the cuke / avocado. I love this served with a sweet soy dipping sauce containing 3T soy, 2T sake or sherry, 1T brown sugar and a sprinkling of sesame seeds! Another good dip for those who like chilli is to use 4T soy, 1T rice vinegar, dash of hot chilli oil and some red pepper flakes. LOVELY!!!! Finally, use wet hands when rolling, use a bamboo mat for best results and use a wet knife for slicing. Happy sushi making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nic in the UK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
Try to put as little rice as possible on the nori - thin layer just barely cover the nori, add more fillings. Press the rice onto the nori sheets with slight wet fingers and add more fillings. This will make sushi roll more tasty and presentable than the picture show. Crab meat stick & egg omelette can be used as fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
Delicious, and much easier than I thought sushi would be to make. I used a thin layer of rice as suggested by other reviewers, and served them with wasabi soy sauce. One warning: pay a little extra for good sushi nori. The cheap stuff is incredibly fishy smelling, and overpowers everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2001
Really squeeze the stuff in the bamboo roller. Cram it in the ends too before cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2001
Try using a little less rice than pictured for a more delicious roll. Mix wasabi and soy for a nice dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States