Smoked Salmon Sushi Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I love sushi! I also add a couple teaspoons of plain white sugar to the rice vinegar before stirring it in to the rice with a wooden spoon. I don't have a rice cooker, so I just cook in a pot -- 2 c sushi rice to 1.5 c water. My favorite sushi to make at home is smoked salmon, avocado, and cucumber. If you buy cukes with thin skin, it looks and tastes better to wash the outside and leave the skin on when you slice into long strips. Dip your sushi in soy sauce and wasabi with pickled ginger. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I've made a similar recipe for years. Here's my crazy twist - add a thin slice of cream cheese inside. I know it's not even remotely traditional, but it sure is yummy! For dipping sauce I prefer Bragg's Aminos... it's like soy sauce only I like the taste better. Plus, I find wasabi to be foul, so I skip it. I also use short grain brown rice instead of white, and I agree with the others that adding some sugar to the vinegar really helps make the rice sticker which is what you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I loved...the rice was perfect. BTW i bought Sushi Rice Vinegar (there's sugar and salt already mixed). I will make again and again I used immitation crab meat and cucumber. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julis82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
It was my first time making sushi and it was actually a lot of fun. Thanks to others suggestions here I had a small bowl of water. I had to keep dipping my fingers in because the rice was so sticky. Instead of cucumbers I used cream cheese. We made miso soup from scratch to go with it. Overall it was good, just not great (in my opinion). Thank you for the recipe though, this can be used as a base roll recipe with other ingredients, and the directions were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LED87
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made these tonight and drizzled dynamite sauce on top (2 tbs mayo, 1 tbs chinese hot sauce, 1/8tsp sesame oil). This was awesome. I cant wait to make again this week to use up the rest of my sushi ingredients. Remember to run your knife through water between each slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Update: Best with Mom's Sushi Rice (found on this website). ~~~~~~ This is amazing! Very tasty. I did use less rice than shown on the picture (barely covering nori) and it turned out absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elmira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Very good. I didnt read some of the others tips. I have now and am ready to try again. This was super simple and very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenduffy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
We LOVE this recipe. I, also, use less rice than shown in the picture and more fillings. I, also, wet my fingers when spreading the rice, and wet a VERY sharp knife every other cut or so. A bamboo mat is a must have. I wet the outside and inside of the nori (where the two edges meet when rolled) to help it stick even better. Then, I wrap the whole roll, before cutting, tight in plastic wrap and refrigerate for about an hour. This seems to help the rolls stay rolled and all the flavors to completely blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
ive been making sushi for a while now and this is a very good version, i used my own sushi rice recipe, which has more vinegar which i prefer but used all the ingredients in the recipe...great combination of ingredients...i felt like i was at a japanese restaurant while being seduced by every bite as i ate it with my eyes closed mmm...yes it was that good...the smoked salmon is amazing in this recipe..make sure to use the raw kind, or else it wont be the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Easy and impressive for parties :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolena74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States