Smoked Salmon Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This was a huge hit! I made this for a huge party I was hosting. I piped the mousse with a pastry bag in slightly cooked phyllo cups and topped with a chive. The guests gobbled these up by the dozen. It does help to have the large cuisinart, as I burned out my engine on the mini-prep because I made four batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I have used a very similar recipe for some time. I do not use liquid at all (or any roe), but do mix in some sour cream to loosen it up and add tabasco and very finely chopped onion. Always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
Addictive,smooth and wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
We have a Kentucky Derby party each year and are always looking for new recipes. We have a caterer, but still do about 2/3 of the food. I used the salmon mousse in the filo shells. It was a big hit. Even the caterer asked for hte recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Delicious!!!! I left out the roe since I didn't have any on hand, but it was still wonderful. Would definately make for company to go with a cracker and cheese plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I love smoked salmon, so this was right up my alley. I doubled the smoked salmon and added capers and a dash of tobasco....I would definetly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riston

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Hazelton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
My husband whipped this up to take to a Super Bowl Party and he said it got rave reviews and none of the "guys" believed he made it. I didn't get to taste it, but it certainly got a high approval rating from the "guys" as there were no leftovers for my hubby to bring home. He said to thank you for making him such a star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I've been making this recipe for quite a while and always gets good reviews by guests. I omit the roe (I don't think it needs it.) Serving tip to really impress your guests: get the phillo cups in the frozen section and bake as directed on the package. After they have cooled, pipe in the salmon mousse into the phillo cups. Top with a little fresh dill. This is a very easy, impressive dish for a cocktail party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Simply wonderful! Creamy, slightly sweet, with hints of brightness from the lemon and dill surround the smoked salmon flavor. I also tried it with about 20 capers added to the mousse to make the brightness a little more complex. I may try it next time with a few sprigs of fresh celantro. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I forwarded this recipe to my husband as he's a big fan of SS. He made it this weekend and loved it! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xtinag

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States