Smoked Salmon Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Can't wait to fix this one! Several people said they added horseradish, and I was wondering how much they added... can anyone tell me? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I bought smoked salmon from Trader Joe's and was looking for an easy spread recipe. This is IT!!! I omitted the roe, and added one finely sliced scallion. Served with an assortment of whole grain crackers, this elegant and delicious mousse was the star of the party. Even my children (13, 11, 8, and 2) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was really very good and super easy to make. Next time I will not add any salt since the smoked salmon is salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I HATE salmon. Hate it. But I was licking the spoon after mixing this! My blender had a tough time with the salmon and also the cream cheese, but I got it done. Doubled the recipe but cut back the cream cheese a little, added a touch more cream. It was glossy and beautiful! Added 2 tsp chopped garlic (from a jar, with juice), put a little tarragon on top for garnish as I had no dill. Left out the roe. I liked it when first made, but refrigerated it for a few hours before a party and it got stronger tasting -- I thought it was too strong, wouldn't do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Good lord: This recipe is so good, I nearly cut my tongue off licking the inside of my food processor bowl. Add a teaspoon of horseradish to give it more zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe. I lined small ramekin dishes with thinly sliced smoked salmon(as previously suggested by a reviewer), filled with the mousse, folded the edges over, then left to chill. It makes an excellent starter. When I turned them out on to small plates I garnished them with a small sprig of fresh dill on top and wedge of lemon on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Delicious! I didn't have heavy cream, used 1/2 n 1/2, but turned out wonderfully. I used phyllo tartlets to pipe the mousse into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaraC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was so delicious. I omitted the roe and made many of the changes other reviewers suggested: used slightly less cream cheese, threw in a couple small cloves of garlic, added a little more cream, and used fresh dill instead of dried. I put in at least a tablespoon of chopped fresh dill, but the taste was still pretty subtle. I also used the little fillo cups, but plain old crackers work just fine, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Oh my, this is such a pretty dish, and yummy as well. Your guests will think you are a rock star. Absolutely a great recommendation comes from reviewer "a cook in tampa." Get the phillo cups from the freezer section of your grocery store. Mine didn't even require cooking. Use a disposable pastry bag and squirt into the phillo cup. Makes a beautiful swirl. Tres elegante. Top with some dried dill. I don't have a food processor, and it didn't work in my 25 year old blender, so just used a hand mixer. Also skipped the roe, actually don't even know what it is:>. Very light and good appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
A party favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenCosta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Eggs Benedict with Smoked Salmon

Eggs Benedict gets a tasty update with smoked salmon and rye bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States