Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I cut this recipe in half and it made a whole lot. It was very good and my husband hates salmon. He said it was REALLY good even after he found out what it was. Restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I used crape fish fillets instead of salmon and it was delicious. I added a bit of old bay seasoning. I also added some green pepper and a chopped jalapeno pepper, because I didn't have green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
amazing chowder. would definitely make again. was a great use for the smoked salmon I received over xmas. made a half portion and was tons. froze well. dont know how often I will have smoked salmon so I would like to try this with another type of fish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roberts Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was a huge hit. I used chicken stock instead of fish stock because I didn't have fish stock on hand. I also took some liberties with the vegies. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I loved this. This is my first real attempt at making a chowder, and I did change a couple of things due to personal preference. I use chicken bacon, low fat margarine, and 2% milk to cut back on the fat content, I also omitted the onion and celery, and used a fresh salmon fillet rather than smoked. When cooking I thought it was looking rather lumping, rather than chowdery, so mashed the veggies with a masher straight in the pot with the stock once the potatoes were done (before adding the roux). Loved it lots and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Loovvved this recipe! Used chicken broth instead of fish broth and a few extra of some of the veggies, but followed the spice ratios, etc. We were going to give some to our upstairs neighbor for lending us a corkscrew... but can't bear to part with one drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
We thought this was very tasty! To lighten it up we used half the butter and flour for the thickening agent and it turned out great. Great way to use leftover salmon or salmon in a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mar1211

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Good base - I leave out the carrots and addtional green onion. I use chicken stock (I don't keep fish stock on hand) and use canned salmon. The corn really adds... the sweetness of the corn and the salty of the salmon - along with the dill... delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakin' Me Crazy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boylston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This makes a really large batch and I didn't have some of the ingredients. Plus, I wanted to use some left-over salmon I had made a couple of nights ago. I also used chicken broth as many other readers had done. In addition, I had the dill weed but it didn't seem appealing so I substituted it with freshly chopped kale which really was superb. The recipe offers the option of adding wine and lemon. I did this and found it really improved overall taste. Here is the ingredients I used which turned out excellently: 5 slices bacon 1 lrg onion carrots 1/2 cup water chkn broth sea salt pepper 1 cup kale 4 red potatos sliced 1 cup butter 1 cup flour 1 pint half-n-half 3/4 wine 1/4 lemon 1 pound left-over salmon Really was an excellent chowder. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is an awesome chowder! I made this precisely as the recipe had indicated and found it a wonderful balance of flavors, color, and texture. I would use this base in many chowders and perhaps attempt other smoked meats as well. The prep time would be closer to the 45"-60" time frame. This makes a huge amount of chowder! I would easily consider the amount of servings to be 18 to 24. We had to switch to our largest pot after realizing that the large pot we had begun with would never have been adequate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States