Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This is a very good chowder and I'm always looking for seafood chowders. I halved the recipe and still ended up with a 5 quart dutch oven quite full. I didn't have any fish stock, so instead I used two cans of chicken broth. The only other change I made was that I backed way off on the pepper and the dill, only a teaspoon each. (To each his own.) This turned out very well, very rich full bodied flavor and very satisfying. The flavors of the bacon, veggies and salmon all came through together without needing so much spice, otherwise I would have given it a 5. I will put this in the rotation and the only change I would make would be to use the fish stock. Wife was happy and said to put it in the "do again" file. Thanks for the recipe and thanks for THE ABSOLUTE BEST cooking website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I cut this recipe in half and it made a whole lot. It was very good and my husband hates salmon. He said it was REALLY good even after he found out what it was. Restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I used crape fish fillets instead of salmon and it was delicious. I added a bit of old bay seasoning. I also added some green pepper and a chopped jalapeno pepper, because I didn't have green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
amazing chowder. would definitely make again. was a great use for the smoked salmon I received over xmas. made a half portion and was tons. froze well. dont know how often I will have smoked salmon so I would like to try this with another type of fish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roberts Creek, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I personnaly would have given it a five but the husband said it needed more salmon ("where's the fish" he says). Next time I make it I will probably use less bacon, more salmon but otherwise it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was a huge hit. I used chicken stock instead of fish stock because I didn't have fish stock on hand. I also took some liberties with the vegies. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
I loved this. This is my first real attempt at making a chowder, and I did change a couple of things due to personal preference. I use chicken bacon, low fat margarine, and 2% milk to cut back on the fat content, I also omitted the onion and celery, and used a fresh salmon fillet rather than smoked. When cooking I thought it was looking rather lumping, rather than chowdery, so mashed the veggies with a masher straight in the pot with the stock once the potatoes were done (before adding the roux). Loved it lots and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Loovvved this recipe! Used chicken broth instead of fish broth and a few extra of some of the veggies, but followed the spice ratios, etc. We were going to give some to our upstairs neighbor for lending us a corkscrew... but can't bear to part with one drop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
We thought this was very tasty! To lighten it up we used half the butter and flour for the thickening agent and it turned out great. Great way to use leftover salmon or salmon in a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mar1211

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Unfortunately, I didn't have smoked salmon, but I think that it really would have added to the flavor. I stuck to the recipe for the most part, but used soy milk rather than cow's milk (my husband's allergic), and vegetable broth rather than the fish broth. I used a little more flavor, but think if I had the smoked salmon, it wouldn't have been necessary. Will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danasweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States