Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Wow, I made it almost exactly as it said only I cut the recipe in half. I didn't use fish stock, I used chicken broth and 2% milk, 6 TBS of butter instead of 8.It was a little thinner then I like but I think it will thicken overnight. It still made three quarts when done. I did use white wine and lemon, that really makes it good. My husband loved it also. We will easily get three nice serving's each for lunch out of it. It doesn't have nearly as many calories as it said. I figure 450 a serving tops... We were lucky enough to be in Door county last week and got good, fresh smoked salmon. I will make it whenever I can get good fish. We get good fresh pepper from Penzy's , so i only used 1 1/2 teaspoons, that was plenty pepper. You gotta try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was awesome! I wanted to make this for dinner, but knew that I would be short on time in the evening, so I tried it in my slow cooker. I cooked the bacon, onion & celery in a pan as directed, then added it to my slow cooker with the water, chix stock that I subbed for fish stock, and spices. Once that mix had a chance to heat up, I added the roux, gave it an hour or so to thicken, then threw in the remaining ingredients of Salmon, corn, etc. I like my chowder w/ a wee little kick, so I also added a little cayanne pepper & paprika. The finished recipe made a ton of chowder... more like 10 - 12 servings, and was a huge hit with my husband & bro-in-law.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Probably the best soup I ever made. I used chicken stock and think it may even be a better choice (so it's not overly fishy). Also, the white wine is essential. I added no salt as my salmon was very salty. If you really want to impress someone, make them this soup. IT IS THE BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Winner, I live in the northwest and made this for a Christmas open house. This was one of three homemade soups I offerred. People love it. I used bottle clam juice for part of the fish stock volume. In the future I may make the fish stock with dried fish flakes or "dashi" since someone in my extended family is allergic to shell fish they couldn't eat this. It makes a huge amount great for a party. would cut this is half or quarter for a meal just at home. did freeze okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Villenave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
MORE LIKE 10 STARS! This soup is like giving your taste buds a VACATION to the coast! I only changed a FEW THINGS: I used low sodium chicken broth in place of fish stock (didn't have any fish stock on hand), USED NO SALT, and replaced the 1/2 cu water with extra chicken broth. This was absolutely divine! It was layer upon layer of soul flavors dancing in our mouths! I thinned it a tiny bit with extra milk (as my roux got a bit thick). I had home smoked salmon to put in which had to be extra wonderful. I did use the wine and fresh lemon juice in the amounts suggested. WARNING - if you don't cut the recipe in HALF you will have enough soup to feed an ARMY, and half your neighborhood...lol It took a little longer to prepare then it states in the recipe, but SO WORTH the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is an awesome chowder! I made this precisely as the recipe had indicated and found it a wonderful balance of flavors, color, and texture. I would use this base in many chowders and perhaps attempt other smoked meats as well. The prep time would be closer to the 45"-60" time frame. This makes a huge amount of chowder! I would easily consider the amount of servings to be 18 to 24. We had to switch to our largest pot after realizing that the large pot we had begun with would never have been adequate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This makes a really large batch and I didn't have some of the ingredients. Plus, I wanted to use some left-over salmon I had made a couple of nights ago. I also used chicken broth as many other readers had done. In addition, I had the dill weed but it didn't seem appealing so I substituted it with freshly chopped kale which really was superb. The recipe offers the option of adding wine and lemon. I did this and found it really improved overall taste. Here is the ingredients I used which turned out excellently: 5 slices bacon 1 lrg onion carrots 1/2 cup water chkn broth sea salt pepper 1 cup kale 4 red potatos sliced 1 cup butter 1 cup flour 1 pint half-n-half 3/4 wine 1/4 lemon 1 pound left-over salmon Really was an excellent chowder. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Good base - I leave out the carrots and addtional green onion. I use chicken stock (I don't keep fish stock on hand) and use canned salmon. The corn really adds... the sweetness of the corn and the salty of the salmon - along with the dill... delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakin' Me Crazy!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boylston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Unfortunately, I didn't have smoked salmon, but I think that it really would have added to the flavor. I stuck to the recipe for the most part, but used soy milk rather than cow's milk (my husband's allergic), and vegetable broth rather than the fish broth. I used a little more flavor, but think if I had the smoked salmon, it wouldn't have been necessary. Will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danasweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gorham, Maine, USA
Living In: Loma Linda, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
We thought this was very tasty! To lighten it up we used half the butter and flour for the thickening agent and it turned out great. Great way to use leftover salmon or salmon in a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mar1211

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States