Smoked Salmon Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Delicious! I just wished I knew how big of a pot to use beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Delightful dish. Found that it is much better if hot smoked salmon is used rather than the softer cold smoked variety. The hot smoked drier fish stay intact and gives chunks and flakes of fish rather than just flavor in the chowder. Make a half batch for a family. Make the 6 serving batch if you are having a reunion. Overall this rocks. Watch your spices if you are not into those heavy flavors. Cut down the pepper and dill if you are weak of heart and add a pinch of garlic if you are addicted to it as I am! Great Eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I used this as a base recipe but altered it dramatically. I used what I had on hand which happened to be chicken instead of salmon, so I made chicken chowder with potato and corn and it was FABULOUS! I will definitely make it again. Husband loved it too! Perfect ratio of ingredients and roux. Made it a second time with even more chicken and mixed in a little whipping cream for extra indulgence. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I've made this recipe TONS and have never heard any complaints....only great reviews! I was even told that I should sell my salmon chowder to the local restaurants because it was so tasty! I've never had anything like this chowder and I will continue to make it! The only changes I've made was using chicken broth instead of fish stock. Five stars *****!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Prep took much longer than indicated, and that was after halving the recipe. For two of us, this provided a generous enough portion for a lunch and dinner beyond the original one! Not as difficult as I thought it would be and it taught me a new technique. The flavor was great. Very good on a very cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wathgwen
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I'd neglected to read the comments before making it so I ended up with more chowder than my family can eat - or wants to eat. I should have left out the lemon juice. It made the soup a little too sour. No one in my family liked the chowder, and at least one member refused to eat it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Loved loved LOVED this! So did my neighbors who asked for the recipe. I made a few changes: · It says to add 1.5 tablespoons (!) of freshly ground black pepper. Thinking that had to be a mistake and fearing ruining the recipe, I used only about one teaspoon, and after the taste test didn't feel the need to add more. · To cut the fat, instead of 1 cup of butter I used 1/2 cup of Earth Balance (vegetable oil product that tastes remarkably like butter) to create the roux. If you do this, the roux will be too thick to pour and you’ll need a BIG skillet and will need to gradually add a lot of the milk until it’s a consistency that you can add to the soup. · Instead of milk I used half 2% milk and half 1/2&1/2. · I did use the (optional) white wine. That’s an absolute must! · Note-the recipe says it makes six servings. It was more like a dozen servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queen Bee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I did a little revising, and knocked out tons of fat and calories. Left out the butter and added a can of 1% evaporated milk. This is a winner, and is now a staple in our freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
WOW and Great for freezing!!! Made 1/2 batch. Used mix of clam juice and veg. broth instead of fisk stock. Also used rice flour to make it gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This soup is GREAT! My 9 yr old gave it 5 stars, too! I didn't add the white wine cuz I didn't have any on hand and I halved the butter/flour mixture to cut out some fat, but it was still rich and creamy! The soup was even yummy before I added the salmon!! It does make A LOT, but I wanted to freeze some anyway. Thanks for the recipe!!! I'll definatelly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Smoked Salmon Platter

Learn how to prepare this elegant and attractive smoked salmon appetizer.

Smoked Salmon and Dill Eggs Benedict

See how to make delicious smoked salmon eggs Benedict without the hollandaise.

Dannon Smoked Salmon Spread

Dannon Yogurt is a perfect complement to all kinds of fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States